My Favorite Sesame Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I'm kind of tough to please, which is why I'm giving this recipe only four stars (I'd give it 4.5 if I could). This was very easy to make, and I think I could probably eat it just about every day, which says a lot for me. Next time I'd probably add a little more chili sauce to give it more zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe, but I used fettuccine style rice noodles, just as in Thai style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I am the recipe submitter and I just wanted to clarify some things that seem to be a tad different from what I submitted. I use the sweet red thai chili sauce in my version as well as fresh grated ginger (not dried ground). Also, it's really an integral step, is to let everything sit refrigerated for a couple of hours before eating - this is really an important step that you won't regret. I wanted to mention that one review indicated that tamari is actually just soy sauce and I want to clarify. Although tamari is a type of soy, it is not the same as regular old soy sauce. The tamari adds a much deeper, richer, more authentic flavor to the noodles. The only other thing worth mentioning is that I toast my sesame seeds - I love them this way! Happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Super easy for a new cook!! Made it for 5 servings with Fettuccini, and eeryone raved!! Didn't have any Tamari but figured Hosin would work just as well... And it did!! Thanks for a new family favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Spectacular.... Only changes were soy sauce instead of tamari and hot chili sauce instead of sweet only because this is what I had on hand. Can't wait for leftovers for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Loved this recipe and would definately make it again... but had a little difficulty with the ingredient list. After spending way too much time searching the isles of the local Asian market, (and then finally giving up and going on-line) - I learned that tamari is soy sauce. Also, the recipe reads 1/2 (8oz) package of spaghetti - I think it should read just 8oz of spaghetti. But otherwise a really great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Delicious!!! Both kids liked it - a rarity! I used linguini, to approximate lo mein noodles. I used crunchy PB, yum! I didn't use the chili paste (didn't have it) so I added some pepper. I felt the sodium content as written was egregious, so I used "lite" soy. I added chicken chunks to make it a meal and served it hot. Reminded me of the chicken Pad Thai from a local restaurant. A huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Yum! This was a littel on the sweet and thick side for me, but the flavor was fantastic. I cut the sweetness with a couple splashes of rice vinegar and served this on Napa cabbage. Very good, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I thought this was quite good but must admit I did not follow the recipe as written. I used soy sauce, as I didn't have tamari sauce on hand, used whole wheat pasta, and, as I wasn't paying proper attention to the recipe, added the toasted sesame seeds to the mixture rather than garnishing before serving. I followed the additional suggestions by the author and used fresh ginger, and let the dish stand for a couple of hours before serving (one hour of the time refrigerated). I think that if this were served with regular pasta, as listed, I would give it a "5" rating, and I do look forward to making again. It needs a touch of something to be served with the stronger flavoured whole wheat pasta, perhaps a bit of cilentro, if that is your preference. This said, my husband loved it . Thank you very much kelcampbell. I look forward to trying other recipes in your collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I used fresh ground ginger like the poster suggested and spicy chili paste and a mixture of one tablespoon soy sauce and one of hoison. I also used whole wheat linguni noodles and omitted the sesame seeds. Oh and crunchy peanut butter. Really really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

Peanut Noodles

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-style peanut sauce for noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States