My Favorite Sesame Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Perfect as-is. Awesome side-dish for the 'Baked Teriyaki Chicken' found on this site. Doubling the recipe gives you the perfect amount of sauce for 1 full pkg of shanghai noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRTW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I loved this! I'm taking it to an Asian inspired potluck so I doubled the recipe. I ended up doubling the sauce PLUS doing another half recipe of the sauce to get the noodles coated like I wanted it. This may be because I used a thin whole wheat pasta (which was delicious in this!) and it soaked up more sauce. I basically followed the recipe exactly using fresh ginger and toasted sesame seeds on the top. I did use half honey and half agave because I ran out of honey and forgot the garlic. My Thai sauce had a bit of a bite to it so it wasn't missed. This was awesome! The last thing I did was add a half a chopped orange bell pepper and almost two cups of sliced shitake mushrooms for a few veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Excellent recipe, very flavorful made exactly as written. One question for author: Is this meant to eat cold or warm? I notice your review says to refrigerate a couple of hours while the original recipe as written by AR does not include that step. After refrigerating, do you reheat? TIA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This recipe is exactly what I was looking for!!! The perfect mix of all those good Asian flavors. The only thing I would do differently is to toast the sesame seeds first. Oh.....and I added 1/4 t. of togarashi. yum..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I loved the smell and the flavor of these noodles. They went really well with my teriyaki chicken. I didn't put seeds since I didn't have any and I used 1/4 tsp of chili paste instead of the chili sauce (to avoid white sugar). I refregerated the noodles overnight. I wasn't too excited about the texture of the noodles, even though I made sure to cook them al dente. My son and I who can sense spices really well thought that the noodles were a tad too spicy while my husband couldn't detect the spiciness at all. I will be making these again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Simple, easy, and delicious! I didn't rate it a 5 because added a bunch of other spices and seasonings to it. Great base recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Very good, I followed several suggestions and I also add about 1 tbsp of peanut butter, this was in another similar recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
The flavor was good but this turned out quite dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I thought this was just alright and actually preferred it warm instead of cold. After sitting for too long the noodles really soaked up the sauce. It had great flavor and would love to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Yeah, I know I should let it set for an hour...like THAT's going to happen! This is a fave of mine from restaurants, and so easy to make at home. I used buckwheat/spelt soba noodles and fresh ginger root, and shriracha chili sauce. I like a touch of fresh chopped cilantro to garnish and flavour a bit. Thanks for your trial and error--it's really great and will now be a regular in my kitchen, only doubling the recipe so some can set for a while!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

Peanut Noodles

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-style peanut sauce for noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States