My Favorite Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This recipe is quite delicious. I substituted brown rice, and that about doubles the cook time. I added 1/2tsp. of salt (plenty, imo), and I used probably closer to 2c. of cheese, because I love cheese. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This was very good, the cheese was a big hit. All of it was gone, would make a double batch for a family of 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I made this rice for stuffing into burritos and it worked great!!! Loved the consistency and the tangy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This was great and quick to make. I did not have a small can of tomato sauce so I used a can of rotel diced tomatoes & green chilies. I doubled the chili powder and cumin and used half the cheese and half the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I am really puzzled by the reviews on this. When I was adding the ingredients, I thought, "Hmm, that's a lot of liquid for one cup of rice," but since nobody else had mentioned a problem with that, I ran with it. Forty minutes later - I used brown rice - I picked up the lid and discovered half-cooked rice soup! This dish needed to cook for a full hour to absorb all the liquid, and even then it was soggy. A normal rice-to-water ratio is 1:2 and this, including the tomato sauce, was almost 1:3. The fact that I'm the only person who had this problem, including other people who used brown rice, makes me think that I did something wrong, but I really did follow the recipe as written. Dinner was well over by the time the rice was done cooking (luckily I had a backup) and when it finally wasn't soup anymore, the flavors were nice. But there are so many mexican rice recipes out there, I'll look for one I don't have to modify so much. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This is really good recipe,i add a little more rice and adjust my salt.came out really good,and i bake it for 8 minutes just to melt the cheese beautifuly:))thanks for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I've never had any luck making Mexican rice. I used this recipe and omitted the cheese. Good flavor! I adjusted the rice to 1-1/2c and used 1/2T (1-1/2t) of salt, adjusted the stock and sauces accordingly. Very happy w/recipe and is the best one I've made todate (I'm still hoping to find a 5* recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Excellent. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Delicious! This was exactly what I wanted to go with a mexican dish I was making for dinner. I didn't think it was too salty at all. Those that said they thought it was probably just don't eat mexican food very often. There's not many things more disappointing to a Texan than bland mexican food. I did have to cook mine a little longer than directed, but I think that could be because my skillet doesn't have its own lid so I had to use a baking sheet which didn't really close in the heat as well. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Reduced the salt as others recommended and it was delicious..I doubled the recipe for a church function so it took a little longer to cook but it was still awesome. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States