My Favorite Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Great, my family loved it! I realized that I put a whole can of tomatoes instead of 4oz..oops, but turned out just fine. Thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This recipe is quite delicious. I substituted brown rice, and that about doubles the cook time. I added 1/2tsp. of salt (plenty, imo), and I used probably closer to 2c. of cheese, because I love cheese. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This was very good, the cheese was a big hit. All of it was gone, would make a double batch for a family of 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I made this rice for stuffing into burritos and it worked great!!! Loved the consistency and the tangy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This was great and quick to make. I did not have a small can of tomato sauce so I used a can of rotel diced tomatoes & green chilies. I doubled the chili powder and cumin and used half the cheese and half the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I am really puzzled by the reviews on this. When I was adding the ingredients, I thought, "Hmm, that's a lot of liquid for one cup of rice," but since nobody else had mentioned a problem with that, I ran with it. Forty minutes later - I used brown rice - I picked up the lid and discovered half-cooked rice soup! This dish needed to cook for a full hour to absorb all the liquid, and even then it was soggy. A normal rice-to-water ratio is 1:2 and this, including the tomato sauce, was almost 1:3. The fact that I'm the only person who had this problem, including other people who used brown rice, makes me think that I did something wrong, but I really did follow the recipe as written. Dinner was well over by the time the rice was done cooking (luckily I had a backup) and when it finally wasn't soup anymore, the flavors were nice. But there are so many mexican rice recipes out there, I'll look for one I don't have to modify so much. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This is really good recipe,i add a little more rice and adjust my salt.came out really good,and i bake it for 8 minutes just to melt the cheese beautifuly:))thanks for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I've never had any luck making Mexican rice. I used this recipe and omitted the cheese. Good flavor! I adjusted the rice to 1-1/2c and used 1/2T (1-1/2t) of salt, adjusted the stock and sauces accordingly. Very happy w/recipe and is the best one I've made todate (I'm still hoping to find a 5* recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Excellent. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Delicious! This was exactly what I wanted to go with a mexican dish I was making for dinner. I didn't think it was too salty at all. Those that said they thought it was probably just don't eat mexican food very often. There's not many things more disappointing to a Texan than bland mexican food. I did have to cook mine a little longer than directed, but I think that could be because my skillet doesn't have its own lid so I had to use a baking sheet which didn't really close in the heat as well. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States