My Favorite Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
My girlfriend and I made this for my family, it was a massive hit! like others have said the recipe calls for a little to much chicken broth. We used 3/4 chicken broth of what the recipe called for. We ever so slightly caramelized the onions which really cut the flavors nicely. I highly recommend this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caleb Davidson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Great in burritos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Super good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Salty... Will cut the salt down to 1/2 teaspoon next time. Also, could probably cut back the oil to 2 tablespoons. That seemed like a LOT after I poured it into the pot. Please use white rice unless you are prepared to let brown rice cook a VERY LONG TIME. The final cooking time for this dish in a brown rice version took me about 90 minutes (about 30 minutes longer than standard brown rice). However, I had the time to let it cook and everyone in my extended family really liked it. I will definitely make this again - with WHITE rice and less salt. Thank you for sharing this delicious side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
This was great! I used more spices than called for - especially chili - and everyone in my house loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kreese

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brunswick, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I used instant rice. It was fast and easy but meh for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
This has to be my favorite recipe for mexican rice. It tastes so authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmr248

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Loved this recipe, and tasted authentic Mexican rice I eat at the local Mexican restaurant! I made minor modification based on the items on hand and stuff. With vegetable oil, I sautéed garlic & dried onion (didn't have fresh!), and then, added rice as noted in the original recipe. I didn't have green chilies, so I added cilantro from my backyard about 2-3 table spoons. Cut the salt to 1 TS and added small amount of pepper, no chili powder, so added 1/4 TS caraway seeds. Also used cream cheese and velveeta 4oz each as those were all cheeses I had in my refrigerator. Other than that, I followed original recipe. Adding cilantro turned out great which added some Mexican flavor, and together with caraway, gave a nice "extra flavor" that would have been missed without chilies in it. Loved the taste of melted cream cheese on top of the rice. Our local Mexican restaurant uses sauce made with sour cream and cream cheese, so it tasted a bit reminder of local Mexican restaurant, which I enjoyed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by montycat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JuicyDevil
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I made this recipe today* its delicious, the only thing I did different, is I added squash to m ine, it's a great recipe! I didnt add the salt to the dish till after it was done, and I also used no sodium chicken broth..:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuicyDevil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Easy recipe. Loved it and the family loved it! It is gone no leftovers so I was ordered to make double batch! lol Great recipe wouldn't change a thing! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Liesman Kyle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States