My Favorite Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
A couple of notes to add to my recipe that didn't come through in the published version: When you are cooking the onions, parsley, and mushrooms, it should be a slow saute - without boiling. When you add the flour, salt, pepper and lemon juice, just cook for a couple of minutes to take the raw taste out of the flour (not until the flour is slightly browned). Lastly, for a larger group, just double all ingredients and use a 13x9 pan. It may take a little longer to heat through, but no other changes needed in the directions. Great for leftovers the next day - if you have any!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I gave this recipe 4 stars because it was yummy, but called for WAY too much butter! The cracker crust was soggy and the butter pooled on the top of the dish. I actually used paper towels to sop up some of the pooled butter. So, delicious recipe, but if I make it again I will use very little butter in the topping, as the crackers are already buttery, and will brown without anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This was a great change from the standard green bean casseroles I have had in the past. I added about 2 cups of mushrooms and a bit more lemon juice. Next time I am going to try fresh green beans and leave out the cheese. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mulino, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This was BANG on for our family. I am not the biggest fan of "normal" Green Bean Casseroles w/ the Cream of Mushroom soup & fried onions on top, so I've been wanting to find something different. And this is it! I did everything as is, except for I threw in some left-over ham & didn't do so much butter for the topping. (due to previous reviews) I did a couple Tblspoons of marg & crushed cornflakes. DELISH!!! A note though... The ham took it over the top!!! BUT if you use the ham you may want to tone down the salt. We liked it, but I'm sure a lot of people would have thought it was a bit salty. THANKS for this recipe!! This is one I will be making OFTEN! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Super easy in the crockpot and the cheese made a nice thick sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I have made this several times now and it is always a hit! Last Thanksgiving I substituted Peas in place of greenbeans my family now has a new holiday request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Pope

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Thank you so much for this recipe! I decided to to green bean casserole for Thanksgiving, but I do not like cream of mushroom. I did a 1/2 recipe today, just to test it out before TG. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I made this recipe for Christmas dinner and I really liked it. I will say, however, that I wish it had been creamier even though I made this specifically because it didn't use cream of mushroom soup. I think that I will omit the flour and add perhaps a cup of vegetable broth (or less) to the sour cream to add some creamy-ness. I don't think the flour added anything useful for me (I omitted the mushrooms, so perhaps the lack of liquid from them makes a difference with the flour). Used fresh, steamed beans and felt that this was very healthy. Thankyou for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Ohmigosh - The mushroom flavor was way to strong and the sauce not creamy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimflorida28

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This was a great change from the unimaginative green bean casserole we've all been suffering through for years!! This was very tasty!! My family loved it and I ran outta tupperware sending people home with it. Very nice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States