My Favorite Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
A couple of notes to add to my recipe that didn't come through in the published version: When you are cooking the onions, parsley, and mushrooms, it should be a slow saute - without boiling. When you add the flour, salt, pepper and lemon juice, just cook for a couple of minutes to take the raw taste out of the flour (not until the flour is slightly browned). Lastly, for a larger group, just double all ingredients and use a 13x9 pan. It may take a little longer to heat through, but no other changes needed in the directions. Great for leftovers the next day - if you have any!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I gave this recipe 4 stars because it was yummy, but called for WAY too much butter! The cracker crust was soggy and the butter pooled on the top of the dish. I actually used paper towels to sop up some of the pooled butter. So, delicious recipe, but if I make it again I will use very little butter in the topping, as the crackers are already buttery, and will brown without anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This was a great change from the standard green bean casseroles I have had in the past. I added about 2 cups of mushrooms and a bit more lemon juice. Next time I am going to try fresh green beans and leave out the cheese. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mulino, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I have made this several times now and it is always a hit! Last Thanksgiving I substituted Peas in place of greenbeans my family now has a new holiday request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Super easy in the crockpot and the cheese made a nice thick sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This was BANG on for our family. I am not the biggest fan of "normal" Green Bean Casseroles w/ the Cream of Mushroom soup & fried onions on top, so I've been wanting to find something different. And this is it! I did everything as is, except for I threw in some left-over ham & didn't do so much butter for the topping. (due to previous reviews) I did a couple Tblspoons of marg & crushed cornflakes. DELISH!!! A note though... The ham took it over the top!!! BUT if you use the ham you may want to tone down the salt. We liked it, but I'm sure a lot of people would have thought it was a bit salty. THANKS for this recipe!! This is one I will be making OFTEN! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
No leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This is a new staple in our family! I made it for Easter and it was quickly requested for future holiday meals and of course, I'm happy to oblige. My notes on the recipe are this, omitting the butter with the crust is a perfect, it's definitely too much butter with it (particularly for my health-concious sister-in-law). It's also great because for me because I can easily eat around the mushrooms that everyone else in the family enjoys. I don't like the texture of mushrooms and the traditional GBC with cream of mushroom soup is unpleasant because I can still feel the texture of the mushrooms. This recipe is perfect because I can make the mushrooms large enough for me to avoid and the family LOVES the large mushrooms. My biggest note is, this makes a 9x13 pan that's pretty full. We had 10 adults eating it at these meals and there is NO need to double the recipe. We always have enough for the meal and leftovers. This recipe is now a family tradition in just one year and it's so easy, I don't mind. Thanks for a great recipe that makes everyone in our family happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: Kenner, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
We normally hate the typical green bean casserole but this recipe is awesome! Made it for Thanksgiving and my oldest boys were arguing over the leftovers. Making it again for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Made this for thanks giving because it was a little different twist. It turned out great! It was also fairly easy which is awesome for first time Thanksgiving makers. Would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States