My Favorite Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
After reading through 25 reviews it was interesting to learn that those who didn't like this cookie ended up with a different cookie than I did! Considering some of those reviews, let's start with what these cookies, at least the cookies I made, are not. They're not crumbly, cakey, puffy or fluffy. Nor are they flaky, oily or moist. They're not shortbread. And they certainly don't fall apart. I'm no scientist, so I don't know the reason WHY this happens, but I do know that when I see a cookie recipe that calls for oil and cream of tartar the cookie is going to be light as a feather, airy, tender and somewhat sandy in texture. I love that kind of cookie and that's exactly how these turned out. If you're looking for the more familiar, chewy chocolate chip cookie, this is not it. It's different, like comparing apples and oranges, but every bit as delicious, if not better than a lot of them! Did I do something different than other reviewers whose experience was different than mine? I used a medium-sized cookie scoop, flattened the cookies just slightly and baked just until they started to get golden around the edges. These cookies, dotted with Valentine's Day M&M's, will be making their way to Minneapolis tomorrow to be given to two grown "kids." I'll be starting out with 36 good sized cookies. It will be interesting to see how many of these are left to give them after the 6-hour drive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I really hate having to put down someone elses recipe... but I find the reviews so helpful. The first problem I came across was that the dough was so thick, my mixer could barely get through it. It also didnt seem to want to stick. I could not do spoonfuls because the dough just crumbled. They puffed up so much that the inside was cakey, and the outside too crispy. I prefer regular chocolate chip cookies...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
AMAZING! Wonderful texture--it is a lot like the consistency of shortbread. Very rich. My husband still prefers traditional chocolate chip cookies, but enjoyed these, too. They are the best soon after taking them out of the oven. I would make only what you plan on consuming that night, then refrigerate or freeze the rest of the dough. If there are leftovers, microwave if possible. They're still good the next day, just not as "to-die-for" in my opinion. I also tried cooking them in a 375 oven for 8-10 minutes, and I thought it worked better. They were slightly golden brown and crisp on the outside, soft on the inside. Maybe it was just my oven, but 350 dried them out a bit by the time the tops started to turn golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2000
THESE ARE MY FAVORITE COOKIES AS WELL....I HAVE LOOKED FOR THIS RECIPE FOR YEARS. I CALL THEM "MELT IN YOUR MOUTH COOKIES"....AND THEY DO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
it was not our favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
These are awesome! For the shortening I used half crisco and half butter. These are a now a family fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Look no further, this is the best chocolate chip cookie recipe on AR and is without a doubt worthy of 5-stars! For 10 years I've been trying to duplicate the chocolate chip cookies that were sold in a bakery nearby. That search has finally ended! Normally I favor chewy cookies of any variety, but this is different and oh so delicious. It's a slightly soft, slightly crumbly, thick textured cookie. I followed the recipe exactly as stated except for using half of the chocolate chips (personal preference). I did find that I needed to cook them a bit longer than 10 minutes, but my spoonfuls were rather heaping. Allow to sit on sheet for 2-3 minutes before moving to wire racks as they are fragile when hot. From now on this will be the only chocolate chip cookie recipe I will use. Simply fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Sorry but this recipe was lacking. I am a chocolate chip cookie lover and I am trying to find that perfect recipe. The cookies were OK, but the shortening made the cookies somewhat greasy and not as flavorful. The recipes that use butter are usually better for you and have a better richer flavor. Cream of Tarter was a nice touch, i would try it in my own chocolate chip recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cab399

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
Thank you for this recipe!!! I do home child care and this was a perfect recipe to have my "kids" help me make. They loved cooking and it was so quick and easy. I did cook them a little longer than the recipe called for and I did leave them cool on the cookie tray a few minutes before moving them to a cooling rack. Everyone loved them. I dropped them by spoonfuls on the cookie sheet with my small Pampered Chef scooper and all the cookies were perfectly shaped and I actually got 36 out of this recipe!! This will be a keeper here!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
The is THEEEEE most delicious cookie ever. I did not have the shorting and vegtable oil so I substituted it with Pure Coconut oil for the shorting and walnut oil for the vegtable oil. My oh my, it reminded me of the cookies at Trader Joes and it has a coconutty taste. Please try it with those two ingredience. You will not go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randallstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Pasadena, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States