My Favorite Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Sorry but this recipe was lacking. I am a chocolate chip cookie lover and I am trying to find that perfect recipe. The cookies were OK, but the shortening made the cookies somewhat greasy and not as flavorful. The recipes that use butter are usually better for you and have a better richer flavor. Cream of Tarter was a nice touch, i would try it in my own chocolate chip recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cab399

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
After reading through 25 reviews it was interesting to learn that those who didn't like this cookie ended up with a different cookie than I did! Considering some of those reviews, let's start with what these cookies, at least the cookies I made, are not. They're not crumbly, cakey, puffy or fluffy. Nor are they flaky, oily or moist. They're not shortbread. And they certainly don't fall apart. I'm no scientist, so I don't know the reason WHY this happens, but I do know that when I see a cookie recipe that calls for oil and cream of tartar the cookie is going to be light as a feather, airy, tender and somewhat sandy in texture. I love that kind of cookie and that's exactly how these turned out. If you're looking for the more familiar, chewy chocolate chip cookie, this is not it. It's different, like comparing apples and oranges, but every bit as delicious, if not better than a lot of them! Did I do something different than other reviewers whose experience was different than mine? I used a medium-sized cookie scoop, flattened the cookies just slightly and baked just until they started to get golden around the edges. These cookies, dotted with Valentine's Day M&M's, will be making their way to Minneapolis tomorrow to be given to two grown "kids." I'll be starting out with 36 good sized cookies. It will be interesting to see how many of these are left to give them after the 6-hour drive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
There seems to be two camps for this cookie, those who like the crumbly texture and those who don't. Unfortunately I am in the latter category, these tasted too oily and overall I did not like the texture. I did not have any problems mixing the dough in an electric mixer (as another reviewer mentioned), and I did use 1/2 less cup chocolate chips just because that's my personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I have been searching for this particular recipe for a while now! I saw it in someone's cookbook, tried it, but forgot to copy it in writing. I searched off and on for about a year and a half and was ready to give up! I'm ecstatic because it's my favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
Absolutely best chocolate chip cookie I've made. My oven temperature is possibly lower. Baked 15 minutes at 350. Other than that it's fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
This cookie is amazing. I don't have a great oven and it still came out fluffy! Just follow the directions exactly (really pull them out at 8 minutes - I left one tray in for 10 and the bottoms burned) and you will have delicious fluffy cookies. I got really nice compliments on them. People said they tasted professionally done! You feel guilty eating them because they are so decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This recipe was delicious! The cookies turned out light and soft, with a little crisp to the outside. A great recipe for someone wanting something more than the traditional CC cookie recipe. These need to be baked for 11-12 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetobakekate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I really hate having to put down someone elses recipe... but I find the reviews so helpful. The first problem I came across was that the dough was so thick, my mixer could barely get through it. It also didnt seem to want to stick. I could not do spoonfuls because the dough just crumbled. They puffed up so much that the inside was cakey, and the outside too crispy. I prefer regular chocolate chip cookies...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
This cookie was excellent, loved it. I had to make a treat for my mom's 50th birthday and decided to give it a whirl, it made tons of cookies and everybody loves it. My husband and me both love it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Drayton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Arthur, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States