My Favorite Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I have been looking for a chocolate chip recipe that would be similar to snicker doodles that had cream of tarter. I had one many years ago and it seems similar to this one. The cookie dough would kinda bubble up then flatten out, believe this is due to the cream of tarter and baking soda. They were melt in your mouth semi crisp delicious cookies. I think I'll try these based on some of the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I love these chocolate chip cookies. I used Crisco Butter Flavored Baking Sticks for shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Oh my goodness...these cookies are my new favorite! I have a son with dairy/soy allergies and am always looking for GOOD cookie recipes without butter, margarine, or milk, and this recipe tops the list! When I used his allergy-free chocolate and followed the directions exactly, these cookies turned out spot-on fantastic...light, fluffy, a tiny bit crisp on the outside, and gooey in the middle. Kudos for an awesome recipe - I have already added to my recipe box and will definitely recommend this one to friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I switched the shortening for butter. These were great. Not your typical choc chip cookied but we loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
it was not our favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
These are awesome! For the shortening I used half crisco and half butter. These are a now a family fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Look no further, this is the best chocolate chip cookie recipe on AR and is without a doubt worthy of 5-stars! For 10 years I've been trying to duplicate the chocolate chip cookies that were sold in a bakery nearby. That search has finally ended! Normally I favor chewy cookies of any variety, but this is different and oh so delicious. It's a slightly soft, slightly crumbly, thick textured cookie. I followed the recipe exactly as stated except for using half of the chocolate chips (personal preference). I did find that I needed to cook them a bit longer than 10 minutes, but my spoonfuls were rather heaping. Allow to sit on sheet for 2-3 minutes before moving to wire racks as they are fragile when hot. From now on this will be the only chocolate chip cookie recipe I will use. Simply fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
The is THEEEEE most delicious cookie ever. I did not have the shorting and vegtable oil so I substituted it with Pure Coconut oil for the shorting and walnut oil for the vegtable oil. My oh my, it reminded me of the cookies at Trader Joes and it has a coconutty taste. Please try it with those two ingredience. You will not go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randallstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Pasadena, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I tried this recipe because I was out of butter. But both my hubby and I decided it is our all time favorite cookie. These are very chewy if they are just a little undercooked, and they are crisp and crunchy is browned. FYI, I used Extra Virgin Olive Oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Sorry but this recipe was lacking. I am a chocolate chip cookie lover and I am trying to find that perfect recipe. The cookies were OK, but the shortening made the cookies somewhat greasy and not as flavorful. The recipes that use butter are usually better for you and have a better richer flavor. Cream of Tarter was a nice touch, i would try it in my own chocolate chip recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cab399

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States