My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Very disappointing. NOT crispy at all, mushy in fact, and lacking flavour even with the addition of loads of garlic and grated onion, not to mention salt and pepper, and cooked in butter/oil. Might be better with only one egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
These were very good. I too found one egg to be sufficient. Added equal amounts onion & garlic powder as well as salt & pepper. I used a nonstick skillet & was able to omit the oil. I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
These were so good! I make them all the time but i used much more flour and they were caky....not near as good. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katyellen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I just made these this morning and my boyfriend asked why we haven't always been doing this w/ our leftover mashed potatoes, lol. I made a couple of over easy eggs, so the yoke ran onto the taters...so yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathyR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Quite bland like someone mentioned earlier. I would recommend turning them over after 5 min. Needs more seasoning somewhere just haven't figured out what. The texture is pretty good. With a few modifications this could be a good dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Loved it! Based on the reviews and what I had on hand, I omitted the chives and ended up having to triple the flour. (Maybe my potatoes were too wet.) I also added salt & pepper and was glad I did. Next time, I'll reduce the heat to medium after I cover the pan. It was browning too quickly. Note to self: make sure to ALWAYS make too many mashed potatoes from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
What can I make to go with potato pancakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
My mom always made potato cakes out of leftover mashed potatoes when I was growing up, but I never bothered finding out how to do them. I couldn't believe how easy it is! I didn't measure anything, but my leftovers appeared to be about 1 1/2 cups, and I used one egg, 1 chopped green onion (next time, I'll add more), and 1/2 TBSP flour, then fried them in a non-stick skillet with a little olive oil. There were no leftovers this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This is a great way to use up those leftover mashed potatoes! I doubled the recipe, but omitted the garlic and chives - as we always make our mashed potatoes with chicken stock and real garlic - so they are very flavorful to start. My kids really liked them with sour cream. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Good base recipe...I double the flour, add pepper, shredded cheese and botb garlic and onion powder, then I roll balls in some flour, then flatten and fry in butter & oil...they don't spread this way and are more crispy :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake

An easy, delicious way to enjoy leftover mashed potatoes for breakfast or dinner.

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States