My Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I have been trying crab cake recipes for 25 years and THIS is the one that beats every crab cake I have made or ordered in a restaurant. First the appearance. Visually this was a perfect crab cake. Passed that test with flying colors. The texture is also excellent and taste was outstanding. I also grilled a rib eye steak for surf and turf for a special Friday night dinner. My husband enjoyed both but I only only had eyes for those crab cakes which I served with aioli. Marvelous. This is only the second recipe I have rated in 25 years. My search for the perfect crab cake is over. Last thought. I did let them rest in the refrigerator 15 minutes between panko dredging and frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Tried this recipe today and loved it! I did not cook the green onions and (living in Alberta, Canada) we don't seem to be able to get Old Bay so just used some cajun seasoning instead. Also, I baked them in the toaster oven at 400 for 15 minutes and then broiled them to brown the outsides. The result - delicious! I really like the speed and simplicity of this recipe. Will be doing them again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Followed recipe exactly, delicious! A little too much cayenne pepper, a little too spicy, will adjust next time. We'll be making these again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
The cakes will hold their shape if you roll them in panko and chill them for about 30 minutes before cooking, otherwise, they spread out to a pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Watson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
Overall a good recipe. However, being from Baltimore I do modify. I only use the panko and not the cracker crumbs too otherwise it's too much filler. And of course we use fresh crab meat. Plus I like mine a little more flavourful so use a couple of teaspoons of the Old Bay along with the cayenne and garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
I tried baking them at 400* after spraying the top with cooking spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Curran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gaither Stephens
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This recipe was great the very first time. The second time I made it I added some chopped celery for a little bit more crunch. This is a recipe I make regularly now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gaither Stephens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Love, love love this recipe. I do reduce the Ritz crackers to one sleeve and double the mayo, but everything else is the same and they turn out great every time. The Panko adds a crispy crust. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Just tried this recipe and my kids devoured it! Absolutely delicious!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
too many crackers. Cakes were a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Muscatine, Iowa, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 662) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States