My Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I used 8oz of crab meat and half the mayo, it came out delicious. It was enough to make 4 very nice sized crab cakes:} Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Followed this almost to the T except I only used 3 green onions since it was all I had. 6 would have been perfect! I used panko and instead of dry mustard I used real mustard. Very moist and flakey. I like to make them more round then flat as it makes them easier to turn without falling apart. Rivals some I have had in restaurants. I also made a garlic aioli that went perfect. Next time I will try and mango salsa. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Every store I went to today was sold out of fresh dungenous crab and I was craving crab for a large family dinner for New Years day. I thought of crab cakes, and bought 12 ounces of lump crab meat. (enought to double this recipe) and went searching for a great recipe that did not use much mayo, (ick). I tried this one and followed some of the commenters tips about red peppers. Other then that I followed the recipe exactly. Fantastic. This is now my go to recipe. I did not have cayenne so I added some Franks hot sauce. These are really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jasatt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I made these last night for our New Year's Eve dinner. I think the spices and amount of filler was just right, however, with using canned crabmeat, the texture was off for me. My husband didn't seem to mind and ate his and mine, so I'm sure this is just down to preference. Next time I make these, I will use lump, fresh crabmeat. Other than that, the cooking time was perfect and they turned out a beautiful golden brown. I also used half oil/half butter to fry my cakes, which I think helps with the taste. I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
AMAZING!! Followed Recipe and was super impressed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanngoss

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kimberling City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Great, easy recipe. I cut down the amount of crackers and panko though because the amount listed seemed a bit much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ms.lisac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Needs a little more moisture. I added an extra egg and doubled the mayonnaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
The next time I make these crab cakes I will reduce the amount of crushed crackers by half. To much filling for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Excellent - Make these low carb by using 1/2 cup almond meal in place of the crackers and skip the breading - they fry up nice and crisp without the breading, moist and yummy inside. I usually make a caper sauce to go with savory croquettes, but these don't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
So good! I followed the recommendations of others & used 2 (6 oz) cans of crab meat, and less oil for frying (1/4 C is plenty!) The only problem I had with these is that they are fragile and fell apart when I tried to flatten them into patties. I solved the problem by rolling the finished mixture into a ball (about the size of a golf ball if you want cakes about the size served in restaurants) placed the ball in the center of my bread crumb plate spinkled bread crumbs over the top and then smashed them into patties. Worked perfectly! The best thing about these is that they are great the next day too, just pop them in the oven @ 425 for about 5-7 minutes (turning once) Thanx Rod!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReddGypsy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 658) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States