My Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
Yumm. I have made these crabcakes many times and I have made some changes to the recipe that I think work better. In ingredients I used 2 6oz. cans crabmeat, 2 eggs, 6 oz. (approx. 20) ritz crackers, and 1/2 tsp. Old Bay seasonings, and only 1/2 cup breadcrumbs. Everything else I kept the same. I did not saute my green onions in oil, but followed the rest of the recipe the same. I would reduce the amount of oil in pan for frying. I serve with aioli. This is the best recipe I've found: 3/4 cup mayo, 3 cloves minced garlic, 2 1/2 tbsp. lemon juice, 3/4 tsp. salt and 1/2 tsp. pepper. Stir all together, and chill. GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
These are turning into one of our favorites! I've made them a number of times and have done some tweaking to the recipe. I use just one sleeve of reduced-fat Town House crackers, and I combine them with the green onions, black pepper, and some garlic powder in the food processor. I use two 6-ounce cans of crabmeat, and one tablespoon of Dijon mustard instead of the dry mustard. Also, I use reduced-fat mayo, and I always put in double the cayenne, as well as fresh pressed garlic instead of the garlic powder. I then coat them with cornmeal and bake them in a 350 oven for 20 minutes, or until they're warmed through - a lower-fat alternative to frying. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
456 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
Thank you for this recipe. These were the best crab cakes I've ever made. I did change the recipe a little bit. I had leftover dungeness crab, about 16 oz. I added 1 sleeve of crushed 4 oz. toasted club crackers. I added a bit more old bay since I am from Maryland and we M'landers like O'lbay. I added extra garlic powder, but next time wouldn't add so much. I used 2 eggs and about 1/2 cup of mayo. I made these in one of those aluminum tins that you get muffins in at the grocery store. 4 muffins to a tin. I sprayed with butter crisco and then lined the tins with the breadcrumbs. I then just put the scoops of crab mixture in each tin (lightly, didn't pack down), then topped with more breadcrumbs and a final spritz of the cooking spray. I baked for about 1/2 hour at 350. WOW...these came out great except for a little too much garlic on my part. I also made an impromptu aioli sauce by just sweating about 2 teaspoons of (purchased minced garlic) in the same pan I made the green onions in. I put this in my mini food processer with about 1/2 cup mayo and 1/2 cut lemon. Wowee.....wonderful!!! LOL...I made fresh asparagus on the side. What a wonderful, wonderful meal and I still have 2 huge crab muffins for tomorrow!! Thanks again! I'm sure they will be smelling me at work tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
346 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Finally an easy and delicious crab cake recipe! I made the crab cakes for our Italian Christmas Eve Fish dinner and everyone LOVED them. I quadrupled the recipe (used 4 cans of crab meat) and got about 20 crab cakes out of it. I also only used 2 and 2/3 sleeves of Ritz crackers and added fresh chopped parsley for some more flavor. I also breaded the cakes with ground corn flakes instead of the bread crumbs and they came out nice and crunchy! The cakes were great, but the aioli sauce made them the hit! Here is the recipe again: 3/4 c mayo, 3 cloves garlic minced, 2 1/2 tbsp. lemon juice, 3/4 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp. pepper Mix all together and chill. I would reduce the salt to 1/2 tsp though next time since it seemed a bit too salty for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosanna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
With a few adjustments suggested by others these were the best I've had. I used two cans of crab and one sleeve of Ritz. I added fewer onions, but also some minced red pepper for color. Served them for some extra special friends and they know good food when they taste it. An instant classic. p.s. if you don't want to invest in buying Old Bay or don't have the room in the spice cabinet, just look at the ingredient list; you probably have most of them in your cupboard already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
I am a huge fan of crab cakes, and these were fantastic. They are one of the few crab cake recipes that I have enjoyed with canned crab as opposed to fresh. All of the spices mixed very well together, but if you arent a fan of cayenne pepper I would cut it down to a 1/4 teaspoon. I used 4 oz. of crackers and fried the crab cakes in butter instead of oil. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly and it was fantastic. I do recommend using less crackers, and frying in butter instead of oil. I got a better consistency and crispness that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2001
These are WONDERFUL! There seems to be a typo in the recipe, however. You do NOT need 4 cups of vegetable oil to fry them in, a half cup will do just fine. Also, the recipe doesn't say to add the fried scallions, but obvously you do. I only used 1/4 lb. of crackers, because 1/2 lb. seemed like a LOT... and they turned out just great. I'll probably try them next time with the full 1/2 lb. just to see, but they were wonderful as they were. I served these with a tangy sauce made from fresh lime juice, sugar, fresh hot chiles, and salt. DELICIOUS! I don't like seafood typically, and I was fighting my fiance for the last one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
The best! I can't count how many compliments I get on this recipe! I sauted both green & white onions, as well as a little bit of garlic. I also added a bit of the Old Bay seasoning into the breadcrumbs when coating the patties. And as per the other reviews, I usually double the recipe, because people are always fighting over the last one! This recipe is surely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I used maybe 3 T. of saltine cracker crumbs and I would have been happy with even less. I used the green part of the onion only, and didn't precook it. I added minced red bell pepper for color and flavor interest. I cut back on the cayenne pepper sigificantly as well as the ground mustard to 1/2 tsp. and the garlic powder to 1/4 tsp. I mixed up all the ingredients but folded the crab meat in last, so as to preserve the nice chunks of lump crab meat I used. Crab cakes should have minimal spice and just enough filler to bind the mixture. Once mixed I refrigerated the mixture for about half an hour for ease in forming it into cakes and for the crumbs to totally absorb the egg. Once formed into cakes I refrigerated the crab cakes another couple of hours before frying them in vegetable oil, not olive oil. I served them with "Garlic Aioli," also from this site. Five stars with the above modifcations to suit my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2003
Wow!!! I took a chance and made this recipe with fresh Dungeness crab (a real budget splurge, but worth every penny). It was fantastic! I didn't have quite as much dried mustard on hand as I thought, so used a little yellow mustard, along with the last of the dried. I simplified the preparation by chopping the green onion in the food processor with the crackers. It eliminated the slicing and frying step, as well as cutting back a little on the fat content. I was concerned about the cayanne pepper being too spicy, so only used 1/4 tsp. It was perfect for us. This recipe is a real "keeper"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 663) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States