My Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Excellent with one exception: Cayenne needs adjusting. I reduced the cayenne pepper to just under a 1/2 teaspoon and should have cut it back even more. The flavors are nicely balanced and work well until the cayenne kicks in, so I'm thinking a pinch under 1/8 teaspoon should do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
This was SO good! I did not have any Old Bay Seasoning and the taste was still great. I did refrigerate after mixing and again after forming patties. I added one additional egg because I thought it looked a little dry and would help with holding together. Served with Garlic Aioli. I would definitely use the real crab meat and not attempt with the imitation. Can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Easy and very good. I used 4 cans of Bumble Bee canned crabmeat (6 oz), 2 eggs and one tube of Ritz crackers. I served it with the Garlic Aioli from this site and it was very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Danburg Carsten

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I have been trying crab cake recipes for 25 years and THIS is the one that beats every crab cake I have made or ordered in a restaurant. First the appearance. Visually this was a perfect crab cake. Passed that test with flying colors. The texture is also excellent and taste was outstanding. I also grilled a rib eye steak for surf and turf for a special Friday night dinner. My husband enjoyed both but I only only had eyes for those crab cakes which I served with aioli. Marvelous. This is only the second recipe I have rated in 25 years. My search for the perfect crab cake is over. Last thought. I did let them rest in the refrigerator 15 minutes between panko dredging and frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Tried this recipe today and loved it! I did not cook the green onions and (living in Alberta, Canada) we don't seem to be able to get Old Bay so just used some cajun seasoning instead. Also, I baked them in the toaster oven at 400 for 15 minutes and then broiled them to brown the outsides. The result - delicious! I really like the speed and simplicity of this recipe. Will be doing them again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Followed recipe exactly, delicious! A little too much cayenne pepper, a little too spicy, will adjust next time. We'll be making these again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
The cakes will hold their shape if you roll them in panko and chill them for about 30 minutes before cooking, otherwise, they spread out to a pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Watson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
Overall a good recipe. However, being from Baltimore I do modify. I only use the panko and not the cracker crumbs too otherwise it's too much filler. And of course we use fresh crab meat. Plus I like mine a little more flavourful so use a couple of teaspoons of the Old Bay along with the cayenne and garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
I tried baking them at 400* after spraying the top with cooking spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Curran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gaither Stephens
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This recipe was great the very first time. The second time I made it I added some chopped celery for a little bit more crunch. This is a recipe I make regularly now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gaither Stephens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 675) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States