My Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
i did exactly as the top reviewer Jen did with the crab cakes and it worked brilliantly. made her aioli as well (that took a big 2 mins to make) used dijon instead od dry mustard, minced garlic instead of garlic powder, and served w fresh salad. WATCH the crab cakes once you put them in the hot oil. abt 2.5 mins a side. they cook QUICKLY!! also expect a little bit of heat from them, but the good "warm you up" kinda heat. yum - 30 minute meal!! made 4 large cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caseyboggs7

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
So easy and so delicious. Careful with the cayenne pepper, I halved it and it was still a lil too spicy for me. I didn't use as many crackers, just whatever I had left which was almost a full roll. I also added an extra egg to help the mixture come together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
These were DELICIOUS and so easy to make. I didn't have cayenne pepper, but we didn't miss it. Thanks for a great, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
DH said wow this has a lot of flavor! I made a half batch for two, had only Italian bread crumbs and was a little shy on the crackers. We'll enjoy these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Instead of making crab cakes, I used this recipe as a stuffing for a seafood dish I was making. I did add 1/2 cup of shredded colby-jack cheese, and half of a fresh cubanelle pepper, finely diced, for a little extra flavor and crunch. I intended the pepper to be poblano since I like extra kick but the store did not have any. I would definitely make this again, either as a stuffing or as crab cakes. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Turned out delicious! Only change I made was replace the garlic powder with roasted garlic into the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I halved the recipe and made 3 large crab cakes. I used a 6 oz can of lump crab, dijon mustard instead of dry, about 6 crushed saltines and fresh garlic instead of powder that I sauteed with the green onions. I kept the 1 egg. I made the mistake of adding the panko to the mixture instead of coating the outside, but they still turned out really good! I did not make the aioli as my preference is cocktail sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Mantua, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This is a very good recipes and easy to make. Followed the recipe for the most part only changed some of the spices. Used Old Bay Blackening Spice, ground white pepper and the cayenne. Added chopped shallots to the green onions. Used fresh cracked Dungeness crab. Also used a little more mayonnaise and two eggs for the binder. Using hands place a small ball (palm sized) between hands and flatten and round edges keeping even thickness. Cover second plate in Panko crumbs. Take the crab cake and press into crumbs and coat both sides. Cook using olive oil. In a non-stick pan drizzle olive oil and heat to shimmer. Add three cakes at a time browning each side. Approximate cook time 2 minutes per side. While cooking one batch you can prep the next cakes to cook. This is a fast and easy recipe. Nicely spiced and not over powering distracting from the crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiltedcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I always make a recipe the first time exactly as written and then will modify if necessary. We enjoyed the flavor of these crab cakes but thought there was too much "filler" overpowering the delicate flavor of the crab. The next time, I'll try 6 oz of crackers, and who knows, that might even have to be reduced to 4 oz. to suit our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I really like this recipe- I just made it using ingredients I already had: replaced the scallions with about 1/3 of a med. spanish onion and adding 1/2 lb of 'Sea Legs' (pollack) to 2 tuna-sized cans of crab meat. Added more Cayenne and they were great- the kids loved them, too (including our neighbor)- All quickly disappeared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 655) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States