My Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Wonderful recipe! I used fresh Lump Crab and added a little lemon juice. I can't wait to try it with the Planko but I didn't have any so I used Italian bread crumbs. I also didn't fry but put them in the broiler on a pan covered with Aluminum foil with coated in EVOO for about 5 or so minutes on each side. My baby LOVED it better than our favorite Crabcake restuarant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I just made these and the recipe made 6 large cakes. I will say that they came out a little dry and I followed the recipe exactly. I am not an experienced cook so the problem may have been me. The wife said that I should have cooked them a little lower heat. I liked the taste very much but my wife thought the cayenne was a little too heavy for her. All and all it was a good experience for a new cook. *I will try a little more mayo or an extra egg next time I think. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PSKelligan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This recipe was my first attempt at crab cakes, and it didn't disappoint! I made these for a girls night in, and everyone loved them! I followed the exact recipe-the only adjustment I would make is to reduce the amount of cayenne pepper by at least half. It was just a bit too much heat for us. I would also recommend refrigerating the crab cakes for at least a 1/2 hour before cooking to help them stay together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cordova, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I feel bad giving these such a bad rating. I wanted them to be good and I love crabcakes but I followed this recipe to a T and I couldn't taste the crab at all they just tasted like mushy ritz crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
If for nothing else I would rate this recipe highly since all my crabcake recipes fall all to hell apart once put in a skillet. ALL the photos here were of cooked cakes that held together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
not sure how I feel abut these.they were good but not crazy good- I will try again. I had a helper who forgot the salt and pepper and mixed the cracker w egg first. tip: just say no when people you don't know ask to help. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This was my first time making crab cakes and it was a hit. I did follow another reviewers advice and baked them at 350 for 20 min rather than frying. I used one sleeve of Rits crackers and sauteed some white onion with the green. I didn't have Ol'Bay seasoning so I used my favorite season all, Head Country. I plan to experiment with this one a bit. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
These were delish! Used 4 cans (4oz dry) crabmeat, 2 eggs, 20 ritz crackers and a little more old bay. Everyone raved about them. Definitely serve with the Garlic Aoili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandraJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I love crab and these crab cakes were so awesome! My BF gave this a 10+++. I bought the lump crab from costco-chicken of seas lump cake $15.99. The first thing I did was cook the green onions with a little minced celery. I took it easy on the cayenne pepper, used fresh minced garlic, coleman's dry mustard. I added a little fresh italian flat leaf parsley and fresh dill. I mixed everything well before adding the crab meat. I gently molded in large patties. I chilled 6 patties for 45 minutes before baking at 350 degrees for 35 minutes. I try not to fry in oil. These crab cakes are so Yummy!! The only thing I would do different is to ease up on the amount of salt. I also served these crab cakes with, "Mustard Cream Sauce," and "Garlic Aioli," also found on this website, to compliment these crab cakes. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 663) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States