My Country Style Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This was an awesome recipe. Modifications: I seasoned the flour to coat the steaks with garlic and onion powder, salt, pepper, and season salt. I saved this flour to make the gravy. Instead of the water I used beef broth. I sprinkled the onion soup into the pan, added the beef broth and eyeballed flour sprinkling it into the broth. After bringing the gravy to a boil, then I added cut up green peppers (I love green peppers with my cubed steak). Simmered the steak and peppers for about an hour. I made this with corn, mashed potatoes, and a cheesy pull apart butter and cheese biscuit bake. Huge success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Not sure we liked the texture or flavor very much. Also too salty for our tastes and I didn't add the extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I think cutting up the cube steaks did help them get more tender. I used my kitchen shears to cut them up. I ended up simmering them closer to 1.5 hours because we weren't quite ready to eat. Good flavor and very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I had to add more oil and more water for the gravy to have a smooth consistency. I did not add any salt and it was salty enough. The steaks came out very tender and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Skipped the dry onion soup, still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
This was delicious.The cube steaks were fork tender and so full of flavor.A wonderful recipe that my whole family loved.Next time I will have to double this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This was excellent. I left the cube steak whole and added garlic powder and onion powder. Very tender and honestly the best I have had....I'm from GA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This turned out really good. Had the family going for seconds. I followed the recipe the way it was listed with only one difference. I added mushrooms to it before I added the cube steaks back in. Turned out really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I tried this tonight for dinner and it was a hit! I followed the instructions and it came out tender, nicely seasoned with only the onion soup mix and very tasty. I will use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Newbirth461

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

BBQ Country Style Ribs

These ribs bake up deliciously in the oven. Yum!

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States