My Country Style Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
This was a good base recipe for what I actually made. I used my own blend of seasonings & floured & cooked 8 cube steaks. I followed the recipe & used a pack of beef onion soup mix to make my gravy. I tripled the amount of gravy because my family loves gravy. I then cut some onion circles & put the steak, onions & the gravy in my slow cooker on warm. This was terrific over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This recipe was very delicious! I did not coat with flour before frying, I only used the flour to make the gravy. My intentions were to make them less breaded. However, they still ended up being pretty breaded, which was fine still. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This was an awesome recipe. Modifications: I seasoned the flour to coat the steaks with garlic and onion powder, salt, pepper, and season salt. I saved this flour to make the gravy. Instead of the water I used beef broth. I sprinkled the onion soup into the pan, added the beef broth and eyeballed flour sprinkling it into the broth. After bringing the gravy to a boil, then I added cut up green peppers (I love green peppers with my cubed steak). Simmered the steak and peppers for about an hour. I made this with corn, mashed potatoes, and a cheesy pull apart butter and cheese biscuit bake. Huge success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Not sure we liked the texture or flavor very much. Also too salty for our tastes and I didn't add the extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I think cutting up the cube steaks did help them get more tender. I used my kitchen shears to cut them up. I ended up simmering them closer to 1.5 hours because we weren't quite ready to eat. Good flavor and very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I had to add more oil and more water for the gravy to have a smooth consistency. I did not add any salt and it was salty enough. The steaks came out very tender and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Skipped the dry onion soup, still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
This was delicious.The cube steaks were fork tender and so full of flavor.A wonderful recipe that my whole family loved.Next time I will have to double this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This was excellent. I left the cube steak whole and added garlic powder and onion powder. Very tender and honestly the best I have had....I'm from GA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

BBQ Country Style Ribs

These ribs bake up deliciously in the oven. Yum!

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States