My Country Style Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
This was a very good recipe. The only thing is that my son found a half of package of the onion soup and added it to it. Made it to salty. But will definitely do it again. I was thinking of using some of the other instand soups the same way, would be great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
We thought this was just great! I was surprised at how good it was thinking that a poor little cube steak would be cooked to death for an hour. I cut the steaks into thirds and used the garlic powder instead of salt. Also took the meat out at the end and thickened the gravy a little more with another TBS of flour and 1/4 C water. Was wonderful with mashed potatoes and green beans on the side. We'll have it often I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
This was very good. It stretched to feed a family of 5 and then leftovers for lunch the next day. Thanks for this recipe exactly as it is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREASKYE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mineral Wells, Texas, USA
Living In: Rhome, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
My husband loves cube steak, and he loved this. I will keep this in the rotation for maybe once a month since he has to cut back on his sodium and fat content. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
Excellent. My boyfriend had asked that I make cube steak ... but I was up against his recollections of how his now-departed mom had made it! Apparently I came close. One caution, though: I have a low tolerance for saltiness, and the salt in the soup mix was enough; I substituted garlic powder for the garlic salt (because that's what I had), and it was still plenty salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
This interesting variation on cube steak was good served with mashed potatoes. To control the saltiness, mentioned by another reviewer, I only used 1/2 envelope of dry onion soup mix, and omitted the garlic salt as well as salt and pepper. I didn't feel that it needed to cook 1 hour because cube steak is tenderized and cooks so quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
This is one spectacular recipe! It is so easy but doesn't taste like it and the gravy is wonderful. Thank you for sharing such an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
Every time I make this I get the same question...when you gonna make this again. This is a definite pleaser! Make sure you try this because you sure will enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
This was delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and it was very easy. My husband loved it and said it tasted very much like the dish his mom makes (so it is a definite keeper). I did end up using a little over 2 cups of water, though, to keep the gravy consistency -- it thickened considerably over the 1 hour cooking time. I may have had the heat up too high. I think the 1 hour cook time is the trick to making that meat so tender!! Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
This was a very tasty dish. Will make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

BBQ Country Style Ribs

These ribs bake up deliciously in the oven. Yum!

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States