My Country Style Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I loved this recipe. To start with I much prefer brownish gravy to the white milk gravies for most country-fried steak. Secondly I don’t know where others get their cube steak but the cube steak I get is slashed up with the mechanical tenderizer but NEVER seems to be that tender. Recipes that call only for breading it, browning it, then pour gravy over it, always leave me with nothing but a tough, breaded piece of meat with gravy on top. (Our cube steak isn’t that cheap to waste on poor cooking either.) I live in the South where people make Country Fried Steak all the time. The best, most tender, (homemade) versions of the dish that I’ve had are ALWAYS simmered in the gravy like this recipe. I’ve simmered before too but still it was not “melt in your mouth” tender and kind of bland. I was intrigued to try this recipe with the smaller pieces of steak trick to see if it helped. It does immensely! I pretty much went by the recipe. I cut my steak into strips. Also the onion soup is a nice rich starter flavor instead of just plain meat gravy from drippings only. The smaller pieces tend to soak up more of the gravy flavor than the big steak size pieces too. I sautéed some fresh onions and some canned mushrooms to add to the gravy and give it a little more home cookin’ restaurant quality depth. I simmered this for closer to two hours on very low heat, stirring and adding water as needed. Very tasty and tender. From now on this is MY Country Style Steak too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
I had some cube steaks that had spent way too long in my freezer. I hate to tell how long they have been in there. This recipe did an excellent job of rendering my elderly cube steaks palatable. I just chopped off the freezer burned part and gave it to the neighbor's dog. (He's still alive so far.) The only thing I did different was to deglaze the pan with a little two-buck chuck Cabernet Savignon before adding the onion soup mix. And I threw in a blob of minced garlic. I followed the advise of another reviewer and substituted one cup of milk (I only had fat-free) for one cup of the water. This was absolutely delicious served with garlic mashed potatoes and Smothered Green Beans from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
Excellent. My boyfriend had asked that I make cube steak ... but I was up against his recollections of how his now-departed mom had made it! Apparently I came close. One caution, though: I have a low tolerance for saltiness, and the salt in the soup mix was enough; I substituted garlic powder for the garlic salt (because that's what I had), and it was still plenty salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookinme
Reviewed: May 26, 2007
This was great. Thanks Mandy Sue for the recommendation. I left the steaks whole and seasoned the flour that I coated them in with some Mrs. Dash Mesquite Grill Seasoning. And the only onion soup mix I had was with mushrooms so I used that. If I had fresh or canned I would have addede those in too. Oh well, there's always next time. Thanks SUZANNER. I am sure I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Best use of cubed steak I've found. Comes out fork tender. I used garlic powder not garlic salt, and made the gravey with 1-1/2 tblsp flour, 2 cups water and one cup milk. It was not at all salty to me made this way, and I liked the extra gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
This interesting variation on cube steak was good served with mashed potatoes. To control the saltiness, mentioned by another reviewer, I only used 1/2 envelope of dry onion soup mix, and omitted the garlic salt as well as salt and pepper. I didn't feel that it needed to cook 1 hour because cube steak is tenderized and cooks so quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
We thought this was just great! I was surprised at how good it was thinking that a poor little cube steak would be cooked to death for an hour. I cut the steaks into thirds and used the garlic powder instead of salt. Also took the meat out at the end and thickened the gravy a little more with another TBS of flour and 1/4 C water. Was wonderful with mashed potatoes and green beans on the side. We'll have it often I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
This is one of my husbands favorite comfort foods. It reminds him of a dish his mother made when he was little. The gravy is wonderful served over mashed potatoes and we liked it with sauteed mushrooms and green beans. Go easy on the salt though...We actually omitted the salt b/c the sodium from the onion soup mix was all our family needed. I sliced up onions and baked it instead of cooking it stovetop. Either way...great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
i thought it had plenty of flavor, just might not have been what i was feeling on that particular night... was easy to fix and all the ingredients i had on hand... will make again and since i have to be in the mood for the onion soup flavor, ill use brown gravy like one reviewer said. definitely worth keeping and toying with some or leave it as is.. good either way... now ive got to invest in a new frying pan so all the breading doesnt come off when my steak bits are cooking lol. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
My husband loved this one. He is a very picky eater, who thinks no one can outdo his mom in the kitchen. This is one recipe that he said tops his mothers! Music to my ears!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Wilke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

BBQ Country Style Ribs

These ribs bake up deliciously in the oven. Yum!

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States