My Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
This is a great, basic (and easy) Chili recipe. Like others I did make a few changes based on what I had in the cupboard and what sized canned goods I buy here in Canada. 1 796 ml can of diced (no salt added)tomatoes; 1 540 ml can of Kidney beans; 1 398 ml can of tomato sauce (no salt added). I upped the Chili powder by 1 Tbsp. and added .5 tsp of Cumin. It's great for those that don't like a 'hot' kind of spicy Chili, like my 14 yr old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Herron

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
My family absolutely loves this chili. I added Tony's seasoning, fire roasted tomatoes, garlic powder and chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I made this last night and it was phenomenal! Thanks so much for sharing your recipe. I followed the recipe exactly except I didn't have any garlic cloves and it was too cold to run out last night so I used fresh minced garlic(the kind that comes in a glass jar and is kept refrigerated) and it turned out perfectly! I love the simplicity of this recipe. it was so easy to make and tasted great. I will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I made this chili for this past Super Bowl and everyone loved it. Making it again this evening. I only used 3 cans stewed tomatoes instead of 4 and added extra chili powder and 1 can of chili beans. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Delicious! A Friend of mine cooked this for kids at a youth group event...great hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
My family loves this the only changes I made was instead of 4 cans of stewed tomatoes I use 1 stewed and 3 cans of different flavored diced tomatoes, like chili flavor, green pepper & onion, roasted red pepper, and so on, it adds flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Roden- Beck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shaaban
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
It was very tasty and easy to make. I made some adjustments by adding a green pepper, corn, and a few mushrooms to make it heartier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen Dolan Harris
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
A new family favorite! I like adding an extra can of beans and I generally get the diced tomatoes so I don't have to break them up while cooking, but I've done it as written and it was definitely delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Dolan Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I normally use Wick Fowler's chili kit, but my store was completely sold out and with Super Bowl Sunday at hand, I had to improvise. I followed this recipe pretty closely, but embraced the revisions cited by many others and used 3 cans of Mexican seasoned stewed tomatoes, 1 can of Rotel diced tomatoes and chilis (original), doubled the chili powder, added 1 T of ground cumen (a must) and used one can of red kidney beans and 1 can of chili pinto beans (beans drained and rinsed). I had drained and reserved all the liquid from the tomatoes and added sparingly in light of the many comments about the chili being too watery. I ended up using almost all the reserved liquid, but will probably only use about 75% next time as I like my chili a little thicker. Used a little corn starch to thicken up my final batch, served with grated, sharp cheddar cheese (Tillamook, of course!) and Zesta saltines. As far as how it turned out, I will just say if you put a bowl of this chili on top of your head, your tongue will slap your brains out trying to get to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexasKook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 698) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States