My Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
This is the only chili recipe I will make now. I do make some changes which I think makes it even better. Instead of using 4 cans of stewed tomatoes, I use 2 cans of stewed tomatoes and 2 cans of diced tomatoes w/ green chilis. This makes the chili spicy. If you don't like much spice, but want some spice, try 3 cans of stewed tomatoes and 1 can of the diced tomatoes w/green chilis. I think it's Del Monte that makes the diced tomatoes w/green chilis. I also add more beans and more chili powder. I keep twirking the recipe until I get what I like. I'm going to be making this for a chili cook-off really soon, so I'm hoping everyone likes it as much as my family does!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
604 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
Our family loved this recipe...even the kids. Rather than plain chili powder, I used The Spice Hunter brand's "Chili Powder Blend" which has cocoa powder, cumin, cinnamon and cloves, among other things. I really think that added a great flavor. I also used S&W brand Mexican seasoned stewed tomatoes. Delicious! One more thing,...I added my kidney beans in with the tomatoes rather than waiting an hour and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
324 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
Super easy to make and turned out great! I used a crock pot on low for about 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
256 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
This is a good starter. I did tweak & I added 2 can's of Bush's Chili beans & 1 can of Ranch style beans, instead of 4 cans of stewed tomatoes, I used 2 cans & added 1 can of Ro-tel (mild) We like our chili thick & not soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
*I've made this Chili again tonight and I have to say it's a favorite because it makes for easy, tasty, creative changes. Hot Green Chili Powder (Hatch Chili's) as a substitute for Chili Powder. Additonal toss in options, corn meal to thicken, cocoa for flavor and richness, black beans, white beans, chili beans in place of or in addition to red kidney beans adds more color and flavor. I've used fresh onion, dried onion and no onion. Oh, and instead of using ground beef I've opted to use a steak which I chopped into tiny cubes. I haven't found one to top this and I'm not going to start looking any time soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANEDREAMER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
great recipe..i added more beans..some cumin powder...tomato paste to thicken ..a little brown sugar .. thanks alot made it a few times i will continue..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I was so surprised, I almost didn't make it because it seemed too easy. My old recipe has tons of ingredients and it's very time consuming. This was fast and my family liked it! I did use 3 cans of stewed tomatoes (which I diced up) and 1 can of the Rotel hot diced tomatoes. Used a little extra chili powder. And, I used a can of the hot chili beans. Just the right spice for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
I didn't want to try a new chili recipe but my husband was insistent on trying something different. So he made this, and it was awesome. The only thing we did different is used 2 cans of diced tomatoes instead of two of the stewed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Millsboro, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
This is a good recipe, it just needs one thing--MORE BEANS!! I half the recipe for my family, except put a whole can of kidney beans and a can of red beans. It is a very basic chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
This was a hit at my Superbowl party!! I changed 2 cans of the stewed tomatoes to diced tomatoes. 1 with jalepenos and 1 with chiles. This gave a little kick. I also added another can of the red beans because of other reviews. (I think next time I will try draining though)I used about a tablespoon more of chile powder too. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 664) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States