My Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Robin Nicole Strickland
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
so this recipe is delicious. this is almost exactly how I make my homemade chili so I decide to use this recipe and give it a slight makeover. Instead of using ground beef and kidney beans, I used Johnsonville Mild Italian sausage and chili beans and man oh man is it amazing! I think the sausage gave it an extra bit of kick because it has so many other flavors to offer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Nicole Strickland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Always miss my mom's chili but she doesn't have an exact recipe and I could never replicate it. This is the closest I've come and even my husband loved it. I did add cumin because it doesn't seem like chili to me without it, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I don't normally come back on this site to rant about recipes I found here, but this recipe is the bomb!! Like others I do put my own spin on it, I put an extra tbs of chili powder and throw in a can of spicy chili beans as well as a few twists of Rachel Ray Chili Seasonings. Even my 24 year old son called back home and asked for this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I was shocked to find this recipe since this is almost identical to my Grandma's chili recipe. The only additions: 1 tsp of cumin, 1 tsp paprika, and 1 diced jalepeno (seeded). I cook the jalepeno with the onion, garlic and meat. Also, I like to use 2 cans of tomato paste instead of 1 can of tomato sauce and add more kidney beans to thicken it a bit. I've made it on the stove and in the crockpot (4 hours on low) and both come out delicious! This chili freezes GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Barron

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GracieJo
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I made this chili and it was easy and tastes great!! I added some chopped green pepper and about a tbsp of cumin. Then added Fritos on top with some cheese! So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I made this recipe and it was delicious, going to make it again tonight due to the weather, great when it's rainy and cold outside!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany M.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Good for what it was but it was too much like pasta sauce. Didn't really taste like chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I only used 1/2 chopped onion and 1 tsp of minced garlic b/c we do not like a strong onion or garlic taste. I used 2 cans for stewed tomatoes instead of 4, also. This came out perfect. I will definitely use this recipe again. We ate it with corn chips and shredded cheese and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This is always my go to chili recipe! However, I do add more veggies (celery, onion, bell pepper) than it calls for. I also add a LOT more chili powder. It's a great base recipe, though. :) I usually cook the meat and combine everything in a crock pot. SO good if you let it cook all night through the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily McDonald

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Easy and tasty. I might consider running the tomatoes through the food processor next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 670) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States