My Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by samsettle
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Fantastic and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
This is a good base recipe, but chili is a very individual dish. It seems like there are as many recipes as there are chili cooks. I gleaned modifications from other reviews and made these changes: used chopped stew meat because I don't like ground beef in chili; used 2 cans Mexican style stewed tomatoes and 2 cans diced tomatoes with green chilis; added 1 tsp cumin (chili really needs cumin), and reduced oregano to 1 tsp. I sauteed the onion and garlic with vegetable oil in a skillet, added the meat to brown, then put everything in the slow cooker on high for 4 hours. Great chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Pretty good, but agree with other reviews that it doesn't need all that salt. I don't like kidney beans, so I used one can of black beans and one can of pinto beans instead. I also used tomato paste instead of tomato sauce to help thicken it up a little. Also added a little diced celery. Hearty and perfect for this snowy MN evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
it was so good!! I hadn't made chilli in years and went looking for a simple recipe and it was a hit for the whole family!! I'm making it again tonight, adding a few extra things to make it my own and doubling it up so I can have plenty of leftovers to freeze for easy lunches!! Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bawlf, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Provost, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Yum. Thanks for sharing. Venison or buffalo is a good beef substitute if you can get it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zammie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Montague, Michigan, USA
Photo by Oldschool
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
We tried this recipe yesterday and we loved it. We did alter it slightly using 3 cans of stewed tomatoes and 1 can of diced tomatoes with chilies, instead of the called for 4 cans of stewed tomatoes. This gives it a very slight kick, but not much. Just remember to top it off with some grated sharp cheddar cheese? Delicious indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I'm not sure why so many people gave this recipe 5 stars. It was very soupy. I would NOT recommend using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
My husband and i really like this chili! I will make it again! We always add more hot sauce though, because we like it hot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
by far my fave "basic" chili recipe....I make some tweaks to this- I drain & rinse the canned beans before adding. I double the chili powder & beans (I use 1/2 black beans/ 1/2 kidney), plus add a whole diced green pepper & omit the added salt (if you're using canned tomatoes & canned beans there's already a ton of sodium there.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This is a great starter recipe. My first time making it, I spiced it up with twice the oregano, garlic, and chili powder. Plus I added some Sichuan pepper, pepper flakes, and cumin. It is pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 625) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States