My Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I normally use Wick Fowler's chili kit, but my store was completely sold out and with Super Bowl Sunday at hand, I had to improvise. I followed this recipe pretty closely, but embraced the revisions cited by many others and used 3 cans of Mexican seasoned stewed tomatoes, 1 can of Rotel diced tomatoes and chilis (original), doubled the chili powder, added 1 T of ground cumen (a must) and used one can of red kidney beans and 1 can of chili pinto beans (beans drained and rinsed). I had drained and reserved all the liquid from the tomatoes and added sparingly in light of the many comments about the chili being too watery. I ended up using almost all the reserved liquid, but will probably only use about 75% next time as I like my chili a little thicker. Used a little corn starch to thicken up my final batch, served with grated, sharp cheddar cheese (Tillamook, of course!) and Zesta saltines. As far as how it turned out, I will just say if you put a bowl of this chili on top of your head, your tongue will slap your brains out trying to get to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexasKook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
made it and it tasted delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Used diced roasted tomatoes, chiplote in adobo sauce and powdered garlic and cumin. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Danburg Carsten

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Just made this and so happy I did. This tastes just like Mom's!!!!! A few tweaks were , add approximately 1-2 bites of dark chocolate, about 2 tsp. brown sugar, 1 green bell pepper ( cut in large chunks, for flavor), and just a splooch of worcestershire sauce. I use Lea & Perrins. I also like spaghetti in mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Lynn Scott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Well, I would have to say that this is "MY" new chili recipe! Like many other reviewers here I did swap out the stewed tomatoes for 4 cans of Ro-tel with green chilies. Added a 1/2 can (3oz) tomato paste and my 2TBS chili power were heaping. Also added another can of red kidney beans, I do like the ratio of more beef than beans but after we have this tonight I'll freeze it till Super Bowl and bring it out again, this will make a bit more. I like this basic recipe, sometimes we can get caught up in the more exotic flavors like coffee, chocolate, beer and even lard.....shudder, that we forget what the original recipe even was. Thanks Michelle for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This was my first stab at chili and I love this recipe. It was very easy and left enough room to add your own flavor and spices. I added a pinch of salt, A little more chili powder and some cumin to taste. Can't wait to make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Easy and my family loves this chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Thee best chili, only thing I'll do differently next time is sub 1 pound ground pork for a pound of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This is a great recipe to start with. Thought it was too runny so I added tomato paste to thicken it. I didn't like the idea of the oregano, so I omitted it. I added some cumin and cayenne pepper to give it some zing. I also used both ground beef and hot Italian poultry sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This was really flavorful but it did resemble the flavor of pasta sauce because of the oregano. We added an extra can of beans drained, only used one white onion, and added some cayenne pepper to give it a kick. We'll try this again but back the oregano off quite a bit to maybe only 1/2 teaspoon at the most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francesca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Tollhouse, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 699) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States