My Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Just made this and so happy I did. This tastes just like Mom's!!!!! A few tweaks were , add approximately 1-2 bites of dark chocolate, about 2 tsp. brown sugar, 1 green bell pepper ( cut in large chunks, for flavor), and just a splooch of worcestershire sauce. I use Lea & Perrins. I also like spaghetti in mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Lynn Scott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Well, I would have to say that this is "MY" new chili recipe! Like many other reviewers here I did swap out the stewed tomatoes for 4 cans of Ro-tel with green chilies. Added a 1/2 can (3oz) tomato paste and my 2TBS chili power were heaping. Also added another can of red kidney beans, I do like the ratio of more beef than beans but after we have this tonight I'll freeze it till Super Bowl and bring it out again, this will make a bit more. I like this basic recipe, sometimes we can get caught up in the more exotic flavors like coffee, chocolate, beer and even lard.....shudder, that we forget what the original recipe even was. Thanks Michelle for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This was my first stab at chili and I love this recipe. It was very easy and left enough room to add your own flavor and spices. I added a pinch of salt, A little more chili powder and some cumin to taste. Can't wait to make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Easy and my family loves this chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Thee best chili, only thing I'll do differently next time is sub 1 pound ground pork for a pound of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This is a great recipe to start with. Thought it was too runny so I added tomato paste to thicken it. I didn't like the idea of the oregano, so I omitted it. I added some cumin and cayenne pepper to give it some zing. I also used both ground beef and hot Italian poultry sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This was really flavorful but it did resemble the flavor of pasta sauce because of the oregano. We added an extra can of beans drained, only used one white onion, and added some cayenne pepper to give it a kick. We'll try this again but back the oregano off quite a bit to maybe only 1/2 teaspoon at the most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francesca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Tollhouse, California, USA
Photo by LiyahSims
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I used ground turkey instead of beef, super delicious either way! I also added some peppers. Delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ed Stevenson
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
nice quick n easy recipe w/ flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed Stevenson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Best Chili ever! Extremely easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 686) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States