My Chicken Pho Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This makes a wonderful, complex flavor soup. I had most of the ingredients on hand for this (I live in California and my lemon grass grows in the front yard) and fixed it for dinner tonight. Only thing I didn't have was the bean sprouts, and although they would have been a nice addition, the soup didn't need them. This soup, although intensely flavorful, is not particularly spicy - if you are looking for hot, slice in some of those green Thai chilis or add some red pepper flakes. I think this would be good over Udon noodles also. Thanks for the recipe! UPDATE: I used homemade chicken stock (simmer the bones from rotisserie chicken in water or chicken broth to cover with vegetable trimmings - carrots, onions, celery - garlic, wine or vinegar, covered overnight on low, strain). Easy and delicious (salt as desired). Lemon grass should be left in 2" chunks and bruised, as it is just for flavor and not to be eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
This is pretty great. My improvements, based off what I've seen in Vietnamese restaurants, which I would highly recommend: 1. Make your own stock. Use raw chicken, cut it from the bone, and boil the meat and bone for a while. I used about one bone for each cup of broth I needed to make. Since I didn't have enough bones, I combined my homemade stock with store-bought stock. 2. Add a star anise while the bones simmer. It makes the soup more savory. 3. Offer cilantro, chili paste, and lime as garnish options. I would also recommend using a little more bean sprouts and bok choy than this calls for. Some might prefer a little less chicken. If you like your bean sprouts crispy at all, only use them as garnish; don't simmer them at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This was very good and easier than expected. I didn't have any lemongrass, so just added lime instead. I also used more broth - about 8 cups, and next time I will add 1 T of fish sauce, instead of 2. I've heard adding hoisin sauce to pho is great, so I'll do that next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrisMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
A great first recipe to start making Pho. Picked up a Pho season packet from the local Asian market, and had sliced jalapenos and limes ready to add as garnish. Turned out just like I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I felt like this was missing some sort of spice from the Chicken Pho I love at our neighborhood restaurant, but the family loved it and want it to be added to the regular list. Maybe cloves?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
My mom makes chicken pho and I missed having it since moving half way across the country. Husband doesn't like fish sauce, so we used soy sauce instead. Didn't add bok choy, as it added too much to the soup. Instead just added a few leaves of fresh basil for garnish. Leave jalapeno slices, lime slices, Hoisin sauce and hot sauce (Sirachi) on table if individuals want to use them to change taste according to their preferences (which is typical for Pho dishes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Broth is a little on the rich side compared to traditional Pho but tastes delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karri707

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Didn't manage to have the fish sauce or the right kind of noodles ... but it still came out delicious. It's relatively quick and easy, and quite tasty. I've had this dish a few times now and will continue to make it. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyGlighty88

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Easy to make and great flavors. I added some carrots and celery to the broth as well...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Thank you for this recipe. I've searched everywhere for a nice tasting pho without all those hard to find ingredients. This one even tastes great using beef broth and beef. I also tried using Tofu Shirataki in place of the noodles to make it a low calorie meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallbrook, California, USA
Living In: Belvidere, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States