My Chicken Pho Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I love this! It is so comforting. Perfect on a day when it's chilly out or if you're sick. I made mine without the chicken, because i'm vegetarian. But I left everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This chicken pho was very good. However, I had to alter the recipe because in Bulgaria we do not have Chinese egg noodles nor can I find lemon grass. Instead, I was able to find a thai sauce that contained lemon grass which I used as a substitute for lemon grass. And for Chinese egg noodles, I used thai rice noodles instead. Also, there are no fresh bean sprouts here, thus I had to use some that came from a jar. The result was very good, however, if I could get the real ingredients this recipe calls for, I bet this pho would have been even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I would give this 4.5 stars if it would let me. I added hoisin and carrots, substituted broccoli for bok choy, and it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Deuel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
It was okay. I had to do a bit of doctoring to make it really taste authentic for me (I've been to Vietnam, eaten a LOT of Vietnamese pho over the years). I used a little less of the ginger and added a bit of sinigang, which is tart seasoning often used in Asian soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Great basic recipe and very easy.. I needed to change it a bit to make it work for my diet.. used vegtable stock instead of chicken stock.. used halved large prawns instead of cooked chicken... added just a bit of fresh ginger and topped with fresh cilantro when serving.. To keep the recipe Gluten Free, I used the noodles I had on hand, which were sweet potato noodles from Korea.. Rice noodles would have worked nicely if I'd had some.. I will make this again and again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This was very easy to make! I pretty much followed the directions as is. We thought it was very good but might have been missing something. I might try to add cin stick & star anise as another reviewer mentioned next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Was terrific! Easy to make and really filling! Thank you...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Great simple-to-prepare recipe! I didn't have lemongrass, but I followed the recommendations of other reviewers and added star anise and a cinnamon stick while letting the broth mixture simmer for about 30 minutes instead of 10. Also added sliced white mushrooms and fresh basil with the veggies. Seasoned it with a bit of sriracha sauce before digging in. I LOVE pho but I'm trying to eat out less. This is a wonderful way to get my fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I've been trying to duplicate an Asian soup recipe they serve in the Employee Dining Room at work, and this did the trick. I added celery and carrots to the soup, floated a star anise in it briefly (too long makes the anise flavor too strong), and added some sliced fresh shiitake mushrooms. I served the green onions and the bean sprouts as a garnish instead of simmering them in the soup to retain their crispness. This was very good and my husband raved about it. Thanks so much for the recipe, Miss Ashley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Since I found this recipe, I have made it about 10 times. Very good. Simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States