My Chicken Pho Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Tasted just like the Pho soup at the local Vietnamese place. I added anise pod, lime and cilantro
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This was my first attempt at Pho and the recipe is great. It just needed the addition of star anise(I added 2 to serve 7 people) during cooking and a couple of family members felt they needed a dash of soy sauce when it was served. You can use rice noodles which is the standard for Vietnemese Pho. Serve fresh basil,chillis and lime wedges at the table. Thank you for showing us all how to make delicious and simple Pho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
An herbal lemon tea bag, steeped, works great if you don't have lemon grass. I used Stash brand "Meyer Lemon", which contains lemon grass and no black tea. A pinch of anise seed, a pinch of cinnamon, and diced jalapeno made it amazing. Also used brown rice noodles. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Excellent pho. Just as good as the restaurant. Must have the basil, jalapeno, and lime. Only changes I made were extra fish sauce, rice noodles and lemongrass. (I've never had Pho with egg noodles.) I used homemade chicken stock that was a little weak and was out of chicken bouillon so added a little beef Better than Bouillon to add some richness. Looking forward to trying it with good stock next time. This would be great with Bahn Mi sandwiches for a full Vietnamese meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley Center, California, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I'll be trying this tomorrow but I'll be using rice noodles (which I already have.) It looks like something even I can prepare and...can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I really did make it in 40 minutes. In addition I chopped up some serrano and jalapeno peppers and basil and soy sauce to add if desired. I would have liked some of thos little red thai peppers but don't have a source. I need to find one. This could be made with prawns too. Since I am doing Weight Watchers used shirakawa zero noodles instead. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Very Good. My teenage sons love pho but I have never had it so I made it as a surprise and they said it was better than the restaurant. The lime, jalapenos and cilantro garnish are a must. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I made this tonight,my family loves Asian food.i did change it just a little bit. I used one whole leek instead of green onion and decided not to put in the fish sauce and added just a little soy sauce I also used the bean sprout as a garnish instead of cooking it also fresh jalapeño and basil. This was amazing thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princez76

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
We were stuck for a chicken dinner tonight and I ran across this recipe. It's fabulous. We had a ready made pho base and next time will add cilantro. That said, as it was, Jonanthan said it is a 'company worthy' meal. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Best ever! I am a gardener and I accidently planted bok Choy. Did not know what to do with it! Wow is this soup great. Don't care if authentic to anything or not, you will love it. Oh, but most of the time I leave out the noodles it just does not need them... Thank you Miss Ashley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States