My Chicken Pho Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Tastythctreats
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Needs the missing spices typically found like cloves and such but otherwise delicious! I also made my own chicken broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I love this recipe! Didnt have fish sauce so used soy sauce and it was still good! I also added mushrooms and left out the noodles. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna DeBoyace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Though it is a good soup I would not call it pho. First pho is made with rice vermicelli and not egg noodles, there should not be bok choi or lemongrass in it. Also, pho NEEDS basil. It should always be served with hoisin sauce, jalapeño, bean sprouts, hot seracha sauce, basil and lemon wedges as add ins left on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Tasted just like the Pho soup at the local Vietnamese place. I added anise pod, lime and cilantro
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This was my first attempt at Pho and the recipe is great. It just needed the addition of star anise(I added 2 to serve 7 people) during cooking and a couple of family members felt they needed a dash of soy sauce when it was served. You can use rice noodles which is the standard for Vietnemese Pho. Serve fresh basil,chillis and lime wedges at the table. Thank you for showing us all how to make delicious and simple Pho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
An herbal lemon tea bag, steeped, works great if you don't have lemon grass. I used Stash brand "Meyer Lemon", which contains lemon grass and no black tea. A pinch of anise seed, a pinch of cinnamon, and diced jalapeno made it amazing. Also used brown rice noodles. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Excellent pho. Just as good as the restaurant. Must have the basil, jalapeno, and lime. Only changes I made were extra fish sauce, rice noodles and lemongrass. (I've never had Pho with egg noodles.) I used homemade chicken stock that was a little weak and was out of chicken bouillon so added a little beef Better than Bouillon to add some richness. Looking forward to trying it with good stock next time. This would be great with Bahn Mi sandwiches for a full Vietnamese meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley Center, California, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I'll be trying this tomorrow but I'll be using rice noodles (which I already have.) It looks like something even I can prepare and...can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I really did make it in 40 minutes. In addition I chopped up some serrano and jalapeno peppers and basil and soy sauce to add if desired. I would have liked some of thos little red thai peppers but don't have a source. I need to find one. This could be made with prawns too. Since I am doing Weight Watchers used shirakawa zero noodles instead. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Very Good. My teenage sons love pho but I have never had it so I made it as a surprise and they said it was better than the restaurant. The lime, jalapenos and cilantro garnish are a must. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States