My Canadian Friend's Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Do NOT use ground italian sausage. It was NOT good. The rest of the soup was tasty, so may try it again if I can find the turkey Italian sausage with casings mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Lovd this soup- soo easy and fast! Threw some kale in there so it's a one dish wonder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I've made this soup twice in the past month because it's so good! I've added zucchini and chopped celery and find that the soup just keeps getting better with more veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Excellent! I cooked the onion, garlic and sausage in a pan and then put everything into a crock pot and let it simmer for about 4 hrs. I did double the amount of chicken broth and I served over pasta, which I cooked separately. Really satisfying, tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This was excellent! I added some crushed red pepper, chili powder, spinach, and an extra can of tomatoes (w/okra). I also used Italian seasoning instead of just dried rosemary. It's also important to use more chicken broth. I used a box (32oz) of chicken broth. Do not add salt - it's not needed. I also used 3 cans different kinds of white beans for a variety. I used turkey sausage in a package that you find near the bacon in the grocery store. I quartered it. I served it with crusty French bread. So easy and fast! My whole family loved it! I will definitely be making this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Very tasty. I use any beans, garbanzo, pinto, whatever we have in a can. Also I tend to go heavy on the herbs, it never hurts. Parmesan shredded is a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Easy to make and tasty. I used pork Italian sausage browning it first then added uncooked bacon to simmer in soup. My husband likes lots of flavor added crushed red pepper flakes 2 tsp. I will try it with turkey sausage in the future. Also had carrots and celery in fridge so chopped those up and added to the soup. Served with cornbread. Thank you for the recipe even though I added other ingredients your soup was the base for mine. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Me 7 hubby loved it but the kids did not like the chunks of tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This soup was great. I love hearty soups with beans. I substituted sausage that i cut small with the casings still on The two big links in the pack from Hilshire farm, still turkey sausage though, but this recipe is good so you can keep it the same or add and substitute meats or beans and it is still delicious. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I use regular Italian sausage and low sodium tomatoes and chicken broth. This is one of our winter favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heide

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States