My Canadian Friend's Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Easy, quick and very flavorful. I made it even easier and quicker by using Aidells Sundried Tomato and Turkey Sausage Meatballs. They're organic, low fat, gluten free and PRECOOKED. (Available in regular packs in grocery stores, and in a large pack at Costco. I divide them into ziplocks and freeze to have on hand for quick meals.) For this soup, I cut the meatballs into 1/4ths, skipping the whole step of cooking sausage. Added a twig of live rosemary from my garden while simmering (along with dried herbs) and removed it before serving. Tripled the garlic. Did have to add more broth than recipe suggests. Used my favorite S&W canned white beans. This is a DELICIOUS soup!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I made this exactly as specified and it was very good! The only issue we had was that it needed something to cut the acid from all the tomatoes. Next time I'll add a little sugar. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I used this recipe as a template, and it's ideal for that. I started beans from dry, 2 cups. I used a local venison-pork sausage that is leaner an firmer, so I very thinly sliced it rather than crumbling it. I used a 28 oz. can of whole tomatoes and added oregano and basil. And the soup was superb, with a dash of Louisiana hot sauce and a side of homemade Italian herb bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nhohmann
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Yes, this soup is quite delicious -- but the best thing about this recipe is how easy it is to throw together. Super easy, that is. And it tastes and looks like it's spent a good day simmering on the stove top. Changes: I doubled the chicken stock to maintain its soupy consistency -- otherwise it thickens up to a stew over time. This was one of the soups we presented during our annual soup extravaganza and it received many kudos. We have made it several times and will continue to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nhohmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
My family loved this recipe. I mistakenly added beef broth instead of chicken broth and it turned out well, so I'd say you could use either. I thought it was a little greasy so next time I would drain the fat or use less olive oil with the onions. We ate it with an artisan filone bread which went really well with it, and a green vegetable served beside. I drained two of the cans of beans and did not drain the third can so there would be a little more body to the soup. Next time I would drain only one of the cans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In-a-Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
My son fixed this for us and it was fabulous. Easy and Great. Doesn't get any better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
We accidentally poured 8oz of tomato sauce in it, but I think it made it better. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn R

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Altamont, New York, USA
Living In: Amherst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This soup is SOOO flavorful and took no time at all to make! I did add extra chicken broth and a little extra tomato, but WOW! Thanks for a great recipe that I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I tried this out for the ladies in my neighborhood bible study and it was very well received. What great flavor! I am passing on the recipe for this one and would only recommend that you let it simmer longer to really bring the flavor out (add a bit more chicken broth for longer cooking so it won't be too thick).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Excellent! I wasn't sure about the ingredients, but followed the recipe to a t and the taste is great! The flavors really come out in your mouth. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States