My Canadian Friend's Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Almost 5 stars. I added kale to mine, which took awhile to cook, but it was really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lumberton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Really nice and simple yet tasty! I ended up using turkey bacon because I didn't have any sausage on hand, and I added a handful of rice to make it heartier (I also added a little extra liquid since I added the rice). I love the touch of rosemary, and the simplicity of the recipe. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Great base for yummy soup. I've made this several time and on occasion I've substituted smoked sausage and it's still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
this will knock your socks off. i followed the recipe almost exactly. really cannot gowrong with a salad and a nice italian bread! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
A wonderful woman from chuch brought this to me when I had my baby. I just came online to find this recipe so I can make it myself. It is so delicious--great as a meal to bring someone as it reheats well and stores well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This is an awesome recipe. I've used turkey and pork hot italian sausage, and both work well. I can't be bothered to remove the casings, so they just stay on. I've never heard of "Great Northern Beans" before and I live in Canada aka the Great White North. However, when I am stateside I am able to find them in the grocery stores there. I probably make this recipe several times a month. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I use smoked turkey sausage instead of Italian sausage, and use three different kinds of canned beans. This soup is easy and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Very easy, quick recipe. My husband asked me to make it all the time! Next time I want to try it with a different flavor of sausage...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This is definitely a very quick and easy recipe and makes a great weeknight supper on a cold winter day. I used a turkey italian sausage that had fennel in it and my husband loved the flavor. I only had one can of italian tomatoes on hand, so I substituted some leftover marinara sauce for the other can and it worked perfectly to keep the consistency of a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKWRIGHT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boring, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
As good as it sounds!! I went ahead and just added an extra can of beans and an extra can of broth. The other proportions will still fine -- just made it go a little further since we were all looking for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States