My Bottom-Up Peach Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
This is a very old Southern recipe. Southern women have been making this dish exactly this way for centuries. it is absolutely DEE LISH. We often serve it with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. This was the first dish I learned to make 51 years ago at the tender age of 5. Fresh nutmeg is best. If you don't have nutmeg on hand use the same amount of cinnamon. For a spicier style use ground ginger, again fresh grated is best. You can also use frozen defrosted peaches or any type of berries. Thanks for handing along a classic and preserving a great tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Used a cast iron skillet. Didn't have self-rising flour, but my handy-dandy Betty Crocker Cookbook told me that a substitute for 3/4 cup self-rising flour is 3/4 cup all-purpose flour, 1 tsp baking powder, and 1/8 tsp salt. Used about 8 fresh nectarines instead of canned and sprinkled cinnamon and brown sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lino Lakes, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Nice quick recipe. The family loved this. I added a pinch of cinnamon and served it with cool whip on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timolyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
This is an easy and great summer dessert. Serve warm and add ice creme and its a hit!! I use suger/cinnamon combo generously in place of the nutmeg! Because the cobbler portion is rich, feel free to use other fruit , too--strawberries, blueberries, apples...its all good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Wonderful, easy cobbler! My 8-inch pan was in the sink and I didn't feel like washing it so I made it in the 9x11 and yes, it was thin ... but turned out just great. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
There was entirely too much liquid for this recipe. My cobbler turned out as what can only be described as gelatinous. I double checked the recipe to make sure I didn't miss anything and I did not. Needless to say...I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roxz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
If you use the juice from the can of peaches, what do you use when changing to apples ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Kokaska

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I've found to use 1/2 of the milk and 1/2 of the peach syrup to mix with the flour mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This is an easy recipe to throw together. A little gooey and runny when warm but it tastes good. After chilling it forms a type of custard with the peaches and a cakey top. I am glad I made it, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Oh heck yeah....this is how we had it as kids, (swap strawberries for the can peach though) with a scoop of vanilla icecream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cookie-Crusted Peach Cobbler

What's cooking in Hagerstown? Cindy's ultimate summer dessert, peach cobbler.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Southern Peach Cobbler

Turn fresh peaches into sweet, outrageously delicious cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States