My Best Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Hubby loved it. I thought it was just ok. Will definitely make again but with modifications. Will use clam juice instead of water for more of a clam taste. Will also use more milk & less half & half and less flour as I thought this was too thick. Overall, a good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
My favorite recipe yet. I was raised in the Maritimes in the 60s and this chowder brought back many memories. The Red Wine vinegar is quite a surprise. I now use it on my French Onion Soup. Thanks Pioneer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Good recipe. We did make some minor changes . . . we used 100% clam juice, no h2o. We also sprinkled about 1/4 lb of crispy bacon into the finished soup. Was satisfying and simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Excellent recipe. I use that I dig that morning and the juice from those clams as the liquid for the soup instead of canned clams. I don't add any salt as there is plenty of salt in the fresh clam juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I made this recipe using 4 cans of whole baby clams and followed the advise of others and added 6 strips of bacon. It turned out very good, but I thought it could use more clam flavor. Next time I will omit any water and will just use clam juice with the veggies. A keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This recipe was easy with outstanding results. We live in the Northeast and really enjoy our "chowdas". I did add about four or five slices of cooked bacon crumbled and had to make this twice in one week because of the raves from family and friends. Very creamy and great tasting. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I thought this was pretty darn good. Few changes I made: used red potatoes. Also used clam juice instead of water and added in the bacon grease to the veggies as well as crumbled bacon to the end broth. I also added a bit of heavy cream to thicken the broth and used white and black pepper. Turned out yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Very good start! I will definitely add bacon or tasso ham next time. It's a little lacking in flavor, but I loved the red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Delicious! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
WONDERFUL!! I added 1 teaspoon dried parsley, 4 cloves garlic with the veggies, 1 teaspoon dried thyme, 1 teaspoon dried oregano, and 1 teaspoon hot sauce. INSANE!!!! served with garlic bread and Key Lime Pie for dessert...and YES,,,,Key Lime is ALWAYS capitalized!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jombus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States