My Best Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Excellent recipe! I've made this many many times and it always goes over well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Followed recipe. I thought it had little flavor. I didnt like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Very good.. Family loved it. I did add some crab and shrimp boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tamythayer
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
My daughter requested clam chowder after remembering having it at Disneyland, so like a good mom does (when she's been adequately buttered up and swayed by a sweet smile and batting eyelashes) I promised her is give it a whirl. Having never made homemade clam chowder I was nervous but or no reason. It was easy to make and turned out fabulous. My picky son who hates veggies of any type scarfed down two bowls. My daughter said it outranks Disneyland and is the "Best ever!" I agree. Will definitely be making this more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
It was a little too liquidy for chowder. Also, there was a lack of seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jefferson, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Great recipe, and adding the fat from some strips of bacon to replace part of the butter (I use three bacon strips' fat to replace 1/4 c), it tastes fantastic! However, I do not use the actual bacon itself as I have tried crumbling and using one, two and three strips at different times, and the whole family prefers the slight smoky flavour to a full-on bacon-y one. I make this once a week and EVERYONE (hubby, son, MIL, FIL...moi) all looks forward to it! Add Pillsbury's Corn Biscuits (come in cans of 8) and you have a cracker meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fiona LeMaster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This was a classic recipe that went over extremely well. Loved the addition of carrots. I also cooked down 5 pieces of bacon and used the grease with the clam juice to cook the vegetables down. In addition I included about a cup of red wine to the cooking vegetables. I added the crumbled bacon in the end with cooked steamers (cleaned), thawed clams, and already cooked halibut (other white fish would be fine as well). Rave reviews from those that grew up on clam chowder in Maine on the coast there entire life (best I have ever had). I did utilize light cream instead of half and half and also had to add more water as it was too thick. Perhaps cut down on the amount of flour, 3/4 cup is a bit much. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I'm not a huge fan of clam chowder to begin with but this recipe was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Cochran 75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mkecupcakequeen
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
First and foremost. THIS RECIPE IS DELICIOUS. Exactly as it is written. Period. Make it, make it now. You will wonder where it has been all of your life. Yes, use the vinegar. Don't skip it, it matters. If you have any other shellfish in your fridge/freezer, throw it in. Why not. Its delicious, enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkecupcakequeen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
We really liked this - hubby and oldest son raved. I did start with bacon, like many reviewers suggested and I seasoned with salt and pepper as I went instead of at the end. I reduced the butter and flour to 1/2 cup each. Still plenty thick. When I tasted for seasoning near the end of cooking it was so good that I completely forgot to add the red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States