My Best Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
This is by far the best clam chowder I have ever made and I've tried a lot. It's ,in my opinion, an award winning recipe. I made bread bowls to put it in and my family loved it! I did add a little extra garlic and a touch of chicken broth to thin it a bit. I also used real bacon bits that were precooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by timzout
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
For being my first attempt at making this meal and after browsing the many available recipes, I was drawn to the simplicity of this recipe. Turned out to be a delicious And easy soup to make, but I did fill a bowl in sourdough bread. I would totally Share this recipe with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I use the cream but I also add some milk to lessen the fat content. I add bacon and I cook my onions and celery with that, canned sweet corn (at the end) and I add some rosemary and Old Bay. I also thicken the chowder. I buy extra clam nectar and do not add any water to the potatoes and carrots to cook them in. Super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindy toutant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
This is very good. I left out the red wine vinegar since I did not have any. Next time I make this I am going to leave out the celery and and a bottle of clam juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Oak Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I used fresh clams that we dug ourselves, so instead of clam juice, I cooked the vegetables in chicken broth. I didn't have bacon, but I added ham. Used 3 cups of 2% milk and 1 cup of sour cream (I was going to use raw goat milk, but it went bad). And I did not add vinegar, but this was REALLY good; I will definitely make it again! Perfect in a bread bowl. Mmmm mmmm :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Turner, Oregon, USA
Living In: Scio, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
great recipe, better than restaurants
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: South Beloit, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
YUUUMMMMEEEEEE!!!!! It took me two times making it incorrectly (I kept adding the clams in the beginning) before finally getting it right and boy oh boy was it good. I will need to type up this recipe reminding me to hold back the clams. I also only had 1 can of clams instead of 3, but it was still just "clammy" enough. I did the bacon suggestion as well. It made it perfect. Yes, it was a little on the thick side but it was cold and snowy outside and just right for the day. I will definitely make this again. Oh yeah, I got this recipe out of my magazine and it has a few different things listed even though its the same title/chef. It has the use of a bottle of clam broth to go with the 3 cans of clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Excellent although next time I will use another can of clams. I followed the recipe except used fat free half and half to reduce calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gloreyb
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Amazing. Followed directions exactly but used red wine instead of red wine vinegar, and about 1/3 c frozen corn kernels. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
I am a New England girl and this is the first time I have rated a recipe way way to much flour in this recipe and I followed the recipe I added 4 bottles of clam juice for more of a clam flavor trying to save our dinner:0( too bad because it's such a good soup night dissapointing1303 likes huh hmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States