My Best Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
This was awesome. One modification, as per some earlier readers' comments: Before doing anything, I browned six strips of bacon in the large skillet, removed them and let them drain. Then, I added the veggies to the bacon fat and proceeded as described (with clam juice, water, etc.) Crumbled the bacon into the soup after it was all combined. Adds fat, but a huge flavor too. Simply outstanding recipe here -- I love the red wine vinegar idea. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1527 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Very good base recipe but definitely does not warrant five stars. To increase flavor, I substituted clam juice for the water, added bacon grease in leiu of half the butter. The bacon grease, while not exactly healthy, gave the chowder a better flavor (IMPORTANT NOTE: You must let the roux cook down before adding the half and half ~ this will eliminate the flour taste that so many are noting in their reviews). Added 1/2 teaspoon of Bay Seasoning and 1/2 teaspoon of onion powder for more flavor. Used a mix of chopped and minced clams and substituted 1/2 teaspoon garlic salt for a portion of the 1 1/2 teaspoon regular salt. Stirred only 1 tablespoon of the vinegar into the chowder prior to serving. Topped the chowder with crumbled bacon and a few chives for color. Helpful Tips: For a smokey flavor, add 1/2 teaspoon of liquid smoke which adds depth and complexity to the chowder base. Add fresh grilled corn cut off the cob which increases the smokey flavor. Replace black ground pepper with white pepper ~ it has a more delicate flavor than the ground black pepper which can be rather harsh with such a creamy base. Most Important: Do not add the clams to the chowder until you are ready to serve ~ the longer seafood "cooks" the tougher it becomes! Delicious with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1313 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
I have been a clam chowder fan for as long as I can remember. I order clam chowder often - when it's available. This recipe is exceptional and compares favorably with the best clam chowder recipes I've tasted in fine restaurants. I did the bacon thing as many other reviewers recommended. I'm glad I did. It added just one more interesting taste element to this already fantastic flavored soup. I prefer my soup thick, so I used all 1/2 & 1/2 as well as a trace of heavy whipping cream that I wanted to get rid of. When the soup was slightly thicker than even I like, I thinned it out ever so slightly with a little skim milk. The only recommendation I might add, for those that prefer the consistency of more substantial clam; get the chopped clam instead of the minced. I think that's what I'll do next time I fix this, which will be often! It's good enough to be an award winning soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
677 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
Very good recipe and is now a keeper in my personal recipes. I left out the celery and carrots due to veggie pickiness in the family and was concerned that would affect the overall flavor. Not a bit. Interestingly, I tasted it prior to adding the salt and red wine vinegar. VERY bland, uninteresting. I added the salt, OK, that picked it up so that it started to taste like clam chowder. But the real kick was the vinegar. It brought it all together with a great taste! BTW, as suggested by others I used all clam juice instead of water, added some bacon and sauted the onion in the bacon fat before adding the potatoes and clam juice. Minor changes but bacon just sounded so good. Well done, Sharon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
287 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BHYLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
Delicious!! I make this recipe twice a month. Following other reviews, I use cornstarch instead of flour. I heat the cream (fat free) over low heat, while the vegetables are simmering. I mix 3/4 cornstarch in with 1/4 cup milk, then add that to the cream. I don't use the red wine vinegar, b/c I don't think it needs it. I also add Old Bay seasoning, garlic and onion powder, and I use dried minced onion instead of fresh. LOVE THIS RECIPE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
My husband and I are both loved this clam chowder. I changed it alittle by cooking the onions in drippings from 4 slices of bacon and reducing the amount of butter. I also used 5 cans of whole baby clams. We are both from Maine and this is better than most restaurants up there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratton, Maine, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
This is a good clam chowder recipe. However, when I first made this I felt that the half and half made it too thick like a stew. Since then I have used milk and it's much better. I also use chopped clams instead of minced. Thanks Sharon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
We lapped this stuff up! I was dubious first because there was a lot of vegetables and juice in the first mixture, but it all mixed together wonderfully! I also used part half&half and part skim milk and it was still VERY rich. I also added some chopped fresh parsley at the very end and will try it with some bacon next time, although honestly it does'nt need it. I also recommend using bottled clam juice in place of the water if you like more of a sea taste for your chowder and I used 3 cans of chopped clams and 2 cans of minced. It makes a LOT of leftovers and I froze them for a later meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
Very good recipe. The vinegar really adds to the flavor. I added some crumbled bacon to the finished product. I think a person would be well-served to saute the vegetables for a few minutes in bacon grease just to add that extra little bit of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jsikes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alleene, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
Wow, this was delicious and my first attempt at making clam chowder. I made several minor changes also: 5 cans of chopped clams, 2 tsp. thyme, 1/2 c. butter, 1/2 c. flour, 2%milk in place of cream. I'll definately be making this again real soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States