My Best Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Excellent recipe. I only used one pot. Just before the veggies were done I added the cream and cornstarch/water mixture. I also used heavy cream instead of half and half. Quick & easy & tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
It's a pretty good recipe. It's not particularly outstanding but it's not bad. I was hoping for a creamier consistency but it was a little on the thin side for me. Next time I plan on using heavy cream instead of half and half - I'm not one to count calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
By far the best clam chowder recipe I have followed. I read people's feedback and reduced the amount of flour to 1/2 cup; I used a half of cup of milk and a pint of heavy whipping cream; I used bacon (who doesn't love bacon).. I also used 5 cans of clams - 3 minced; 2 chopped; and then sauteed the onions and garlic in the grease and followed the recipe above... being a seafood lover I added bay scallops and a can of lump crab meat; then crumbled the bacon in and added old bay seasoning and a few crushed red peppers... I love it!! It's rich, creamy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Washington

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I made a few changes to this recipe which made it a 5 star in my house ! I used freshly shucked little neck clams and oysters which made all the difference in flavor. I also used 2 cups chicken broth and 2 cups half and half. I did not have any red wine vinegar so I used cider vinegar and I also added 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper for some kick. Absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight and it was delicious! I added only 2 cups of half & half and the rest milk. It was a little too thick, so I added a little more milk at the end. I also only used half of the butter to cut down a few calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Loved it. My husband said it was the best clam chowder he ever had. I added the bacons, as suggested, and that made all the difference, I think. Super creamy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
The pickiest eaters in my house LOVED this!! Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimmyDee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Family loves this recipe but be sure to add a bottle of clam juice really gives it a full seafood taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Excellent! Instead of measuring out the vegetables - I just approximated and used 2 big carrots, 4 stalks of celery, 1 medium onion and 4 medium potatoes. I ended up with more than a cup each but it just made it heartier. Also, didn't hold off putting the clams in. Delicious for this fall day in Charlotte, NC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
This was a great base recipe but I too fried up half a pound of bacon and used SOME of the bacon grease to saute the veggies. I also added about 2 tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce, teaspoon of Old Bay seasoning, a teaspoon of thyme as well as a little beef bullion. Much more flavor after adding the extra ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by willpwr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States