My Best Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I would give this recipe 5 stars but for the fact that just in the process of reading the ingredients I knew it would need more seasoning. I played with the prep a bit, too, but that was more because I assumed I knew how to start it but instructions were a bit different. All worked out okay. This chowder turned out really rich, creamy and just thick enough ~ all of those are a must for this Massachusetts resident and her family. I included about a teaspoon each of Thyme, Dill and Old Bay seasoning. Generous sprinkling of salt and a combination of white and fresh ground pepper. The "Chowdah" won't be eaten until tomorrow to allow the flavors to ripen so taste should be even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Hummm I don't change anything and I wait for my husband to share this delicious, easy and yummy chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This was good and the bacon idea worked well. It did not have the clam taste I usually get, maybe because they were canned clams. The texture was nice and would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Ehh, made recipe exactly as stated. Boy was it bland. I had to over compensate with salt and then it just tasted like salty creamy soup. It was way too thick too. Next time i will not add water. Maybe more clam juice and maybe brown the vegis a bit to add some depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gariharmison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Made this over the weekend. It was wonderful on a cold day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This was a real good chowder. Being close to Bean Town have had many a chowder. Was easy to make and was gone in one dinner sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe B Novice

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sagamore Beach, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Something is just off. Too much flour maybe? Made as written except fried bacon and added that to the veggies. Had a very fishy taste, but other than that was kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
VERY GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Hooey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waupaca, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This was excellent and super easy! The only change I made is to use chicken stock (along with the clam juice) instead of water to cook the vegetables in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States