My Best Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Pretty much the same as my mother in law makes it. I start with a roux and go from there because there is no point in dirtying a lot of dishes! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktlynn01

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Sorry, not good at all. Didn't care for the vinegar taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Tasty clam chowder recipe! The red-wine vinegar that I used must have been really strong, as I thought it was a bit too over powering. Will cut it back next time - probably to 1 tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Photo by Maria Bermudez-Alvarez
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Two of my adult daughters told me this is their "go to" clam chowder recipe so I decided to try it since DH and I love clam chowder, especially on cold days!This recipe is very close to the one I normally make and is very good but we found it to be a bit too "milky" tasting so I'll go back to my original way of making chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GramCracker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Damascus, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Mine had a floury taste to it. My girlfriend told me that I needed to boil the flour mixture a little
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I used fat free half and half and sprinkled in some Lawry salt. Like other reviewers I added crumbled bacon. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamamcgonigle
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This passed my husband's chowder high standards. I used bacon grease, as suggested by other users, to cook the onions and potatoes. I also left out the celery & carrots. Will definitely cook again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamcgonigle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
My children are going through food testing so we needed to make this dairy free. I used coconut milk instead of half-and-half. I also added Old Bay Seasoning and white pepper. Didn't try the bacon this time around. This was wonderful! The coconut milk added a slight sweetness. I think it would be really good countered with bacon and liquid smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Arrowood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Somerset, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
This was a great hit with my family of four. Even my picky five year old had two servings and together we finished the pot in one sitting. I wouldn't change a thing. No bacon needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States