My Best Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
My husband loves this and says it's better than one served by a 5 star restaurant in our town. This is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
This is a good recipe. I felt like it was missing something though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
This was my first time making clam chowder and was worried I'd mess up on cooking in the flour, but I kept mixing and it was fine. I'd like more flavor, so added Old Bay and followed the suggestion to add bacon to it! I didn't have any red wine vinegar and I think it tasted great without it. Will definitely make this my go-to recipe for clam chowder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I found this recipe to be just ok; sort of bland. I went ahead and added bacon to add some flavor. My son liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Westminster, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Delicious!!! This was my first time making clam chowder and it turned out great. If I were to change anything I would add more potatoes, but I love potatoes in my soup. I Didn't add the vinegar and used some bay seasoning... Served in fresh baked bread bowls, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
A big hit tonight!!! We did alter it some. For the chopped potatoes we used a 2 lb bag of southern style frozen potatoes. We used 2 cans of minced and one can of chopped clams. We omitted the carrots, and used garlic instead of onions. We didn't add water and in fact we used a jar of clam juice and a beer. We didn't have enough half & half so we used milk and thickened it with some corn starch. Oh, and we also did like the others and used the bacon grease for the celery and garlic and that added great flavor. So it seems like we altered this recipe a lot. We sort of did, but we couldn't have made it without the basic recipe, which is similar to a recipe my husband and I used to make 20 years ago, but lost somehow! Oh, and we served it bread bowls! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
My family wants this every Christmas Eve now! I've been making it for the last several years and finally took the time to review it. I make it exactly as written. Wonderful with fresh homemade bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I have made this twice with rave reviews from family and friends. I did add more Clams that what the receipe said. Single receipe I added 2 extra cans. Yum!! Forgot to say, I also used Fat Free Half and Half and Smart balance for the Rhue the second time and it was as good as the first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Garner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Family loved it! Was a big hit with sour dough bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rsnyderp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States