My Best Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Very Good !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA
Living In: Gap, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Awesome! I added about 6 pieces of chopped bacon cooked with drippings, and added a touch of liquid smoke...this was my first clam chowder and we loved it! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This was a fantastic recipe! I made a few modifications that had anyone who ate it licking the bowl and begging for more. I wanted it to be lower in calories as well as with a little more kick to it, so here are the modifications. Also, I am a firm believer that clam chowder should always be thick! So when making the roux, take your time and let the cream/butter/flour mixture slowly cook with absolutely constant thickening. Mods: 1. No potatoes- instead, I used double the carrots, 1.5 times the celery and about 10 cloves of garlic (chopped) 2. More seasoning!- I added garlic powder (I love garlic!), oregano, dill and parsley; all to taste 3. 1/3 less butter- instead of 3/4 cup I used 1/2 cup. It turned out just fine without the 400 extra calories. Next time I may try to get it down to half a cup, but we'll see. 4.LOTS of pepper and half a teaspoon more salt- this technically goes under seasoning, however I feel it deserves it's own bullet. The pepper really gives it a kick to compliment the thick creamy texture and the extra salt was necessary with all the extra vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Simply delicious and hearty! !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Pretty good, kinda thick but everyone enjoyed it. Made exactly as stated, but added the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I wanted to make some Clam Chowder so I decided to try this recipe and I am glad that I did since it turned out very good with some cheddar cheese added to the soup to give it some better flavour and improve the texture of it. I put both light cream and 2 % Milk which I think gives it the same amount of sweetness that all cream would give which I think has kicked it up a notch with my new addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheerios

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Made as written with excellent results. New recipe for Lent or any other time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
My husband loves this and says it's better than one served by a 5 star restaurant in our town. This is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
This is a good recipe. I felt like it was missing something though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States