My Best Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I made this recipe for my husband's special birthday supper at his request and I had never made home made clam Chowder before but we both have ate many others recipes and I have to tell everyone that not only was this so easy to make but it turned out more fantastic than we both ever imagined and will for certain make this again. I can also see great possibilities using other veggies instead of the clams for a hearty winter Chowder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I've made this recipe a million times now! We all love it, but I must admit, I like it better WITHOUT the red wine vinegar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kit Gonzales
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This was my first attempt at clam chowder. I made it two times. The first time I followed the recipe and it was good. Second time I minced the celery and diced the carrots and potatoes quite small and also only used 2 cans of minced clams. I liked this better, it wa creamier and less chunky and slightly less fishy taste which I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daniel
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
If you follow the instructions. It is very good I love this soup. Ive just added mini shrimp and you will get a better taste thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
This recipe is my all time "go to" for clam chowder, love it thick!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly as listed.It was extremely starchy, thick and lacked clam flavor. In fact, it could have passed for a type of mashed potatoes or puree. I'm going to try it again with the suggestions of the reviewers (bacon grease, milk, cooking the roux down, all clam juice-no water, and both diced and minced clams). Hopefully I will have better luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Very Good !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA
Living In: Gap, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Awesome! I added about 6 pieces of chopped bacon cooked with drippings, and added a touch of liquid smoke...this was my first clam chowder and we loved it! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This was a fantastic recipe! I made a few modifications that had anyone who ate it licking the bowl and begging for more. I wanted it to be lower in calories as well as with a little more kick to it, so here are the modifications. Also, I am a firm believer that clam chowder should always be thick! So when making the roux, take your time and let the cream/butter/flour mixture slowly cook with absolutely constant thickening. Mods: 1. No potatoes- instead, I used double the carrots, 1.5 times the celery and about 10 cloves of garlic (chopped) 2. More seasoning!- I added garlic powder (I love garlic!), oregano, dill and parsley; all to taste 3. 1/3 less butter- instead of 3/4 cup I used 1/2 cup. It turned out just fine without the 400 extra calories. Next time I may try to get it down to half a cup, but we'll see. 4.LOTS of pepper and half a teaspoon more salt- this technically goes under seasoning, however I feel it deserves it's own bullet. The pepper really gives it a kick to compliment the thick creamy texture and the extra salt was necessary with all the extra vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Simply delicious and hearty! !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States