My Best Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by mkecupcakequeen
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
First and foremost. THIS RECIPE IS DELICIOUS. Exactly as it is written. Period. Make it, make it now. You will wonder where it has been all of your life. Yes, use the vinegar. Don't skip it, it matters. If you have any other shellfish in your fridge/freezer, throw it in. Why not. Its delicious, enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkecupcakequeen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
We really liked this - hubby and oldest son raved. I did start with bacon, like many reviewers suggested and I seasoned with salt and pepper as I went instead of at the end. I reduced the butter and flour to 1/2 cup each. Still plenty thick. When I tasted for seasoning near the end of cooking it was so good that I completely forgot to add the red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
love the vinager taste. nice touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Suprisingly disappointing! I made the recipe exactly as it is written and just found it very bland and even sweet, which was not right for clam chowder. I am so sad because I had high hopes bases on the reviews and doubled the recipe. That was a lot of work for something that is so/so. I'll be looking for a better recipe. Thanks anyway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I used low fat milk in place of 3/4 of the half and half and it turned out thick and creamy VERY GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I will make this again and again, it was so creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This is a good recipe. I read a bunch of the reviews and used some of the suggestions (no water, all clam juice, bacon grease and butter in the roux) and I used 4 cans of clams. Used all other ingredients as the recipe stated. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I would give this recipe 5 stars but for the fact that just in the process of reading the ingredients I knew it would need more seasoning. I played with the prep a bit, too, but that was more because I assumed I knew how to start it but instructions were a bit different. All worked out okay. This chowder turned out really rich, creamy and just thick enough ~ all of those are a must for this Massachusetts resident and her family. I included about a teaspoon each of Thyme, Dill and Old Bay seasoning. Generous sprinkling of salt and a combination of white and fresh ground pepper. The "Chowdah" won't be eaten until tomorrow to allow the flavors to ripen so taste should be even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Hummm I don't change anything and I wait for my husband to share this delicious, easy and yummy chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This was good and the bacon idea worked well. It did not have the clam taste I usually get, maybe because they were canned clams. The texture was nice and would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States