My Best Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
We LOVE clam chowder so we were EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED in this recipe! I followed it exactly. No changes were made. This recipe was very bland and too thick. You could not even tell it was clam chowder by the taste. Will never make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by affiebear
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
We added some minced garlic and bacon. Ended up very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
I needed to add lots of additional spices. I used poultry seasoning, more pepper, onion powder. Tasted kinda "floury" but everyone gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
This is fabulous! I've made it 3 times so far. The last time I tried with with fat free half and half and it tasted great. The consistency was creamy and it maintain the velvety texture my family likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
This was the second best clam chowder I've ever had. It was amazing! I did make a few changes... I also cooked several strips of bacon, then sautéed the veggies in the bacon fat. I used all chopped clams instead of minced, and substituted all clam juice for the water. I switched out the black pepper for white, and added a teaspoon each of both Old Bay seasoning and onion powder. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Delicious! My husband is from Vermont, and said it was the best he has had in a long time. I added about 1/2 cup of corn, a dash of garlic powder, a dash of onion powder and a little bit of milk (because it was starting to thicken up too much). It doesn't need bacon like some reviews were suggesting. However, I did garnish with some freshly shredded Parmesan cheese I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
My husband made this for supper tonight and followed the recipes to a tee. Nice surprise to come home to this. Must say it was delisous and the croutons made it that much better. We are from Nova Scotia but must say this is the best I have ever had. A BIG YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Leeder Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lower Sackville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
I thought this was great! My entire family really enjoyed it. The only modifying I did was change 1/2 of the salt to garlic salt for a little extra flavor. Thank you for a great easy chowder recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Love this recipe! I opt out of the celery, carrots, and only use one tablespoon of red wine vinegar. It is much better the second day once everything has married and settled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andreacooks
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Very easy and great tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States