My Best Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I tried this recipe but I also followed chefsingledad's recipe and added the bacon. It was delicious. I've made it for family and friends and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This truly was the best Clam chowder I ever put in my mouth. After reading the reviews, I will try adding the bacon and cooking all of it in the iron skillet. Don't know how this recipe can be improved but after reading some of the reviews, I will try cooking the bacon in the skillet and cooking the veggies in the drippings and adding the chopped bacon. ---- Barbara526
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I love this recipe! Ive made it several times.....I did make the following changes...I used 4 cans of chopped clams, i did not use carrots, i used dried onion and added some additional spices. It is easy enough for anybody to make and turns out awesome! Better than the restaurant :) Also....used reduced fat half and half and it remained the same :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I am keeping this one. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Excellent recipe. I only used one pot. Just before the veggies were done I added the cream and cornstarch/water mixture. I also used heavy cream instead of half and half. Quick & easy & tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
It's a pretty good recipe. It's not particularly outstanding but it's not bad. I was hoping for a creamier consistency but it was a little on the thin side for me. Next time I plan on using heavy cream instead of half and half - I'm not one to count calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
By far the best clam chowder recipe I have followed. I read people's feedback and reduced the amount of flour to 1/2 cup; I used a half of cup of milk and a pint of heavy whipping cream; I used bacon (who doesn't love bacon).. I also used 5 cans of clams - 3 minced; 2 chopped; and then sauteed the onions and garlic in the grease and followed the recipe above... being a seafood lover I added bay scallops and a can of lump crab meat; then crumbled the bacon in and added old bay seasoning and a few crushed red peppers... I love it!! It's rich, creamy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Washington

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I made a few changes to this recipe which made it a 5 star in my house ! I used freshly shucked little neck clams and oysters which made all the difference in flavor. I also used 2 cups chicken broth and 2 cups half and half. I did not have any red wine vinegar so I used cider vinegar and I also added 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper for some kick. Absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight and it was delicious! I added only 2 cups of half & half and the rest milk. It was a little too thick, so I added a little more milk at the end. I also only used half of the butter to cut down a few calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Loved it. My husband said it was the best clam chowder he ever had. I added the bacons, as suggested, and that made all the difference, I think. Super creamy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States