My Best Beef Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2001
I changed this recipe to cook in a crockpot. Use well trimmed brisket or you will have WAY too much fat!! I followed most of the ingredients, but I added Dried onion soup mixes {2}, water to come half up to the meat,and Worstershire sauce. I cooked on high 4 hours and low for as long as everyone got home!!! {3 to 5 hrs} After eating some sliced meat with our dinner, I put the pot in the fridge. The next morning I skimmed all the fat off the top. Later, I also added stew vegies to the liquid {along w/ chopped meat that was left} in order to use everything!!! My whole family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLNLYTTON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2002
This is a very good and tasty recipe, however the cooking time is far to long. The cooking time should be cut down to 2-2 1/2 hours. The outside of the meat was very hard, inside was dry but tender. I will try this recipe again, but not cook it as long as the original recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2001
Something is very wrong with this recipe. I'm not sure if it is the temperature of the oven or the number of hours your to cook it for. I started with a 5.25lb cut of brisket. Nothing would cut this meat, it was like leather. It smelled wonderful for the first hour that it cooked. Then I was outside - when I came in the house 4 1/2 hours later (total cooking time 5 1/2 hours) you could smell it had burned. What a dissapointment. (the creamcheese/horseradish sauce is great!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
This is a great recipe. The marinade was very tasty. I am glad I read the other reviews because the cooking time is too long. I cooked a 6.25 cut for only 3 hours. I left the fat on and trimmed it off after cooking it. I was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I used a 2 lbs. brisket & cut the recipe in half. I marinaded the brisket for 2 days. I then put the brisket & marinade in the crock pot on high for 3 hours. I sliced the brisket thin & put in back in the crockpot so it wouldn't dry out. I accidently added a tbsp of garlic instead of horseradish. After I realized my mistake I added a tbsp of horseradish and it tasted terrific. I didn't have any leftovers & I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
Very good flavor. I made this in the crockpot just for the ease. I seem to have a problem with getting brisket tender. This fell apart when we sliced it, but was still a little dry. I also added a little red wine and some grill spice. I saved the juices for a soup base for vegetable-beef soup as they were excellent. Hubby loved horseradish sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
I substituted worsheschire sauce for the soy sauce and a roast instead of brisket. After marinating for 24 hours I cooked it on high in crock pot for 3 hours. Tasted WONDERFUL! Made some great leftover dishes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I made this recipe as stated EXCEPT for the cooking time. I used a 4.75 lb. brisket and baked for 2 1/2 hours then let rest for 20 minutes before slicing. Since I'd only done a brisket in the crockpot previously, I wasn't sure if I was to cover or leave the meat uncovered during baking. (The recipe didn't say one way or the other.) I covered it the entire time and it was tender and delicious! I think I'd like to experiment with the marinade using chciken, pork or beef ribs. Mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Philipsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Wow! My husband usually doesn't rave over dinner, but this one is a winner. A 6 pound brisket baked for 3 hours and left to rest for 1/2 hour before cutting. Perfect!!!! Thank you for sharing this recipe. We're going to use this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenmum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Received great reviews from a Professional Chef when I recently served this at a dinner party. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States