My Best Beef Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2001
Something is very wrong with this recipe. I'm not sure if it is the temperature of the oven or the number of hours your to cook it for. I started with a 5.25lb cut of brisket. Nothing would cut this meat, it was like leather. It smelled wonderful for the first hour that it cooked. Then I was outside - when I came in the house 4 1/2 hours later (total cooking time 5 1/2 hours) you could smell it had burned. What a dissapointment. (the creamcheese/horseradish sauce is great!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2001
I changed this recipe to cook in a crockpot. Use well trimmed brisket or you will have WAY too much fat!! I followed most of the ingredients, but I added Dried onion soup mixes {2}, water to come half up to the meat,and Worstershire sauce. I cooked on high 4 hours and low for as long as everyone got home!!! {3 to 5 hrs} After eating some sliced meat with our dinner, I put the pot in the fridge. The next morning I skimmed all the fat off the top. Later, I also added stew vegies to the liquid {along w/ chopped meat that was left} in order to use everything!!! My whole family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLNLYTTON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2002
This is a very good and tasty recipe, however the cooking time is far to long. The cooking time should be cut down to 2-2 1/2 hours. The outside of the meat was very hard, inside was dry but tender. I will try this recipe again, but not cook it as long as the original recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
This is a great recipe. The marinade was very tasty. I am glad I read the other reviews because the cooking time is too long. I cooked a 6.25 cut for only 3 hours. I left the fat on and trimmed it off after cooking it. I was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
i found that this dish was okay nothing that i would use in my personal recipe stable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
Very good flavor. I made this in the crockpot just for the ease. I seem to have a problem with getting brisket tender. This fell apart when we sliced it, but was still a little dry. I also added a little red wine and some grill spice. I saved the juices for a soup base for vegetable-beef soup as they were excellent. Hubby loved horseradish sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I used a 2 lbs. brisket & cut the recipe in half. I marinaded the brisket for 2 days. I then put the brisket & marinade in the crock pot on high for 3 hours. I sliced the brisket thin & put in back in the crockpot so it wouldn't dry out. I accidently added a tbsp of garlic instead of horseradish. After I realized my mistake I added a tbsp of horseradish and it tasted terrific. I didn't have any leftovers & I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
I found this and it was easy to prepare and turned out wonderfully!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
I substituted worsheschire sauce for the soy sauce and a roast instead of brisket. After marinating for 24 hours I cooked it on high in crock pot for 3 hours. Tasted WONDERFUL! Made some great leftover dishes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
The meat turned out really well--I also cut the cooking time--but I feel there is too much liquid smoke. My daughter loved the meat because it tasted like bacon, but I didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICTORIAJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States