My Best Beef Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2001
I changed this recipe to cook in a crockpot. Use well trimmed brisket or you will have WAY too much fat!! I followed most of the ingredients, but I added Dried onion soup mixes {2}, water to come half up to the meat,and Worstershire sauce. I cooked on high 4 hours and low for as long as everyone got home!!! {3 to 5 hrs} After eating some sliced meat with our dinner, I put the pot in the fridge. The next morning I skimmed all the fat off the top. Later, I also added stew vegies to the liquid {along w/ chopped meat that was left} in order to use everything!!! My whole family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLNLYTTON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2002
This is a very good and tasty recipe, however the cooking time is far to long. The cooking time should be cut down to 2-2 1/2 hours. The outside of the meat was very hard, inside was dry but tender. I will try this recipe again, but not cook it as long as the original recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2001
Something is very wrong with this recipe. I'm not sure if it is the temperature of the oven or the number of hours your to cook it for. I started with a 5.25lb cut of brisket. Nothing would cut this meat, it was like leather. It smelled wonderful for the first hour that it cooked. Then I was outside - when I came in the house 4 1/2 hours later (total cooking time 5 1/2 hours) you could smell it had burned. What a dissapointment. (the creamcheese/horseradish sauce is great!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
This is a great recipe. The marinade was very tasty. I am glad I read the other reviews because the cooking time is too long. I cooked a 6.25 cut for only 3 hours. I left the fat on and trimmed it off after cooking it. I was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I used a 2 lbs. brisket & cut the recipe in half. I marinaded the brisket for 2 days. I then put the brisket & marinade in the crock pot on high for 3 hours. I sliced the brisket thin & put in back in the crockpot so it wouldn't dry out. I accidently added a tbsp of garlic instead of horseradish. After I realized my mistake I added a tbsp of horseradish and it tasted terrific. I didn't have any leftovers & I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
Very good flavor. I made this in the crockpot just for the ease. I seem to have a problem with getting brisket tender. This fell apart when we sliced it, but was still a little dry. I also added a little red wine and some grill spice. I saved the juices for a soup base for vegetable-beef soup as they were excellent. Hubby loved horseradish sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
I substituted worsheschire sauce for the soy sauce and a roast instead of brisket. After marinating for 24 hours I cooked it on high in crock pot for 3 hours. Tasted WONDERFUL! Made some great leftover dishes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I made this recipe as stated EXCEPT for the cooking time. I used a 4.75 lb. brisket and baked for 2 1/2 hours then let rest for 20 minutes before slicing. Since I'd only done a brisket in the crockpot previously, I wasn't sure if I was to cover or leave the meat uncovered during baking. (The recipe didn't say one way or the other.) I covered it the entire time and it was tender and delicious! I think I'd like to experiment with the marinade using chciken, pork or beef ribs. Mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Philipsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Wow! My husband usually doesn't rave over dinner, but this one is a winner. A 6 pound brisket baked for 3 hours and left to rest for 1/2 hour before cutting. Perfect!!!! Thank you for sharing this recipe. We're going to use this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenmum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Received great reviews from a Professional Chef when I recently served this at a dinner party. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States