My Amish Friend's Caramel Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
I've been on AR for several years now & found lots of great recipes, but this is the 1st one that I said "Wow! I've got to rate this one!". Thank you Anita! My 4 yr old is allergic to peanuts & tree nuts so he had never had caramel corn before (but is a BIG popcorn fan). He loved it - told me it was "quite good"--no, we're not British;) Just a side note, two 3.5oz bags of microwave popcorn=7 quarts of popped corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
902 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDONDLIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watseka, Illinois, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Outstanding!! I have made one similar to this for years. One suggestion....use a turkey roaster and a stiff spoon to stir with. The tall sides of the turkey roaster make it so much easier to do a good job stirring. When you stir, make sure that you scrapt the bottom and sides of the roasting pan. Hope this helps....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
674 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
An easy way to coat the popcorn is to put the popped corn in a paper grocery bag and pour the caramel mixture over it and stir with a wooden spoon, then dump the mixture out onto your baking pan and throw the paper bag away. I agree with another reviewer that 200 degrees is the right oven temp. I bake it 45 minutes, stirring every 15.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
434 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe -- it's scrumpdillyicious! :) Instead of 1/2 c. light Karo, I used 1/3 c. light Karo and 1/3 c. molasses. This gave it a flavor absolutely identical to Cracker Jacks (I also used Spanish peanuts rather than dry roasted). I used a large roasting pan and a jelly roll pan, placing the jelly roll pan on the bottom rack in the oven and the roasting pan on the rack just above it. When you first pour the caramel over your corn, you'll think you'll never get it mixed up well....BUT...after the first 15 mins in the oven, it becomes thinner so that you can easily stir to combine. After that, it progressively gets thicker and totally adheres to the popcorn. Believe it or not, clean-up was a snap (I was pleasantly surprised!). Just butter your pan very well and then rinse with hot water as soon as you finish. I would definitely suggest using a good quality popcorn (rather than the cheaper type) so that you get nice fluffy, puffy pieces. I used Orville's microwave butter popcorn, and it took about 2-1/2 bags to make 7 qts. Thank you again...my entire family loves this recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
332 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DISCOBUNNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
I've made twice. The first was following the recipe exactly and it was AWESOME. It was somewhere between caramel and toffee. The second time, I realized (already into it) that I was out of brown sugar, so substituted white sugar and added 4T molasses. It too was awesome and if you're looking for a Cracker Jack knock-off, the latter is the ticket. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
This is just the BEST caramel corn! I used 2 bags of microwave popcorn. After corn is popped, I place it in a large paper grocery bag and pour caramel mixture over it (stir with a wooden spoon).I also added some slivered almonds and some dried cranberries (yum).Poured mixture in jelly roll pan coated with nonstick spray. I baked for 45 minutes, stirring every 15 mins. The next time, I might even try doubling the caramel topping. If you like caramel corn, you'll LOVE this recipe. Thanks for the posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
I've been making this recipe since 1979 and it IS the best caramel corn recipe I ever found! I never use peanuts, though. I use almonds, cashews or pecans. Do use butter - improves it so much,if you can believe that! This is great to give in tins or those pretty decorative bags at Christmas! Make more than you think you'll need, because people will ask for more! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gayle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Update: I am speechless....only because my mouth is stuffed with caramel corn. 5 stars is not enough. I followed other users tips. 1. Baked at 200 for 40-45 minutes stirring every 10-15 min. 2. Used butter instead of margarine. 3. Used a large roasting pan. Much easier for stirring. 4. I used a whisk for stirring but when adding the baking soda, I switched to a large spatula. That way you are able to get all the caramel out of the pan. 5. I made the caramel first then popped the popcorn. When the popcorn is hot it's easier to stir the caramel mixture into it. Be sure to remove any unpopped kernels. 6. Before you add the caramel sauce, drop 1 tbsp. of it on wax paper. Wait for it to cool down and you have a piece of homemade caramel just as a treat for you! Cuz you're worth it! Pros: Best I've ever tried Cons: Should have made two batches. One for me and one for the rest of the family. Another con was waiting for it to cool down. I just couldn't stop picking at it. Quality control is important you know. This will be a new gift at Christmas time. And it's cheaper than buying it. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
Very yummy. I used Orville Redenbacher's Smart Pop Kettle Corn popcorn for this recipe. I lined one of the pans with foil, but ran out when I went to line the other pan. On the unlined pan, the carmel drippings came off and mixed very well with the popcorn while I stirred it and also when I removed it from the pan. The lined pan (even though it was greased) wasn't nearly as cooperative as the unlined pan. It was even worth the washing. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
I prefer this made with butter rather than margarine but otherwise thought this was really good. I used about one and a half cups of unpopped corn & no nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 989) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States