My Amish Friend's Caramel Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
This is an excellent recipe. I've made this recipe for years. It was on the Jolly Time Popcorn bag many, many, many years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Love this - make it all the time with the following changes: After popping the corn in a hot air popper and removing all the kernals, we divide the popcorn between two brown paper grocery shopping bags (about 1/4 way full each) and then pour the cooked brown sugar/butter topping (I also only use one stick of butter and not two) over the popcorn in each bag, fold the top over a couple of times and shake, shake, shake. Then we place one bag in the microwave on high for 30 seconds while shaking the other bag. When the first bag is done, we put the second bag into the microwave while shaking the first bag. We cook each bag 30 seconds for the first time, 45 seconds the second time and 30 seconds a third time, shaking well in between each cook time and alternating the bags. Pour out onto waxed paper on the counter and break up large pieces. Quite a bit sticks the to the side of the bag but tear it down the sides and the popcorn comes off easily without taking paper bag with it if you run a rubber spatula or spoon over the edges. The caramel corn turns out much more well-coated than in the oven and it's super fast to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Will I make this again? yes ,yes yes, yesssssss. Very good popcorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I've made this for family movie night and it was absolutely to die for! My niece ate most of it, and was begging for more when it was all gone. LOL! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meyersdale, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Berlin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Great recipe to make with my 9 year old daughter. We microwaved the mixture until it bubbled and then baked. I only had Dark Karo Syrup and the taste is Crunchy goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This recipe is directly out of "Popcorn Cookery" by Larry Kusche, 1977, an "HP Book". There are a LOT of good recipes in this cookbook, if you can find it. Thank you Mr. Kusche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I get rave reviews every time I make this caramel corn. It's delicious and it disappears in a flash! I leave out the peanuts because my kids don't like them, but that doesn't take away from the goodness. The only tweak I do is to use real butter instead of margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
So good, I like the molassas flavor so added a few Tablespoons and some water to the caramel to spread easier and not be so crunchy Wonderful and soooo addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Made 2 batches for a fundraiser bake sale. One batch original recipe, another batch with the molasses & spanish peanuts for the Cracker Jack appeal. Used many suggestions from others, no need to ever try a different recipe for caramel corn. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Having never made caramel corn before and having bad experiences with caramel/taffy candy I was very wary about making caramel corn. I read this recipe and all the reviews at least as long as it took to make the caramel corn! Love this recipe. I can do it! Thank you very much, original poster and other reviewers. I followed the advice of some other reviewers because I don't like to use corn syrup and used 1/2 cup molasses and 1/8 cup agave syrup because it was next to the molasses in the cupboard. Yum! I will absolutely make this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 994) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States