My Amish Friend's Caramel Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Oh my gosh... I need a distraction this caramel popcorn is so good I'm afraid I could easily eat it all! I made an adjustment per the review of someone else. I used 1/3 C of Light Corn Syrup and 1/3 C of Molasses (ulsulphured). 3 regular size bags of Orville R. Micro butter popcorn = 7 QTS. Oven at 200 not 250 is what I chose. Simply amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Love it, perfect, great every time. Wouldn't change a thing - oops, well, I use butter, not margarine, and I think it's fabulous! This is the BEST, everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Made this last night exactly as stated and it turned out perfect. Can't stop eating this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
This has become a Christmas staple for me. I make one batch with peanuts and one without and put them in red and green bags (red for no peanuts, and green for with peanuts) and give them out. There are people who wait every year for it. Some years, I melt a little chocolate and drizzle it over it for added decadence. The recipe is great as is, although I usually make a little more caramel. I started as a purist and only made "real" popcorn, but I've given up and use unbuttered microwave popcorn now and I think I'm the only one who even notices. I use one of those throw-away roasting pans and just toss it for easy clean up when I'm done. Since I usually make about 10 batches for the holidays, this doesn't feel too wasteful. Do not try to make this when it's humid. It's terrible and soggy. I made it once in July and regretted it right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I love this recipe!! So good! The amount of popcorn sounded like it would be way to much so i cut in half. Mistake ! Now i have to make more. I added pecans instead of peanuts. Sooo good! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melarizona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
This is an excellent recipe. I've made this recipe for years. It was on the Jolly Time Popcorn bag many, many, many years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Love this - make it all the time with the following changes: After popping the corn in a hot air popper and removing all the kernals, we divide the popcorn between two brown paper grocery shopping bags (about 1/4 way full each) and then pour the cooked brown sugar/butter topping (I also only use one stick of butter and not two) over the popcorn in each bag, fold the top over a couple of times and shake, shake, shake. Then we place one bag in the microwave on high for 30 seconds while shaking the other bag. When the first bag is done, we put the second bag into the microwave while shaking the first bag. We cook each bag 30 seconds for the first time, 45 seconds the second time and 30 seconds a third time, shaking well in between each cook time and alternating the bags. Pour out onto waxed paper on the counter and break up large pieces. Quite a bit sticks the to the side of the bag but tear it down the sides and the popcorn comes off easily without taking paper bag with it if you run a rubber spatula or spoon over the edges. The caramel corn turns out much more well-coated than in the oven and it's super fast to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Will I make this again? yes ,yes yes, yesssssss. Very good popcorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I've made this for family movie night and it was absolutely to die for! My niece ate most of it, and was begging for more when it was all gone. LOL! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meyersdale, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Berlin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Great recipe to make with my 9 year old daughter. We microwaved the mixture until it bubbled and then baked. I only had Dark Karo Syrup and the taste is Crunchy goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 999) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States