My Amish Friend's Caramel Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I have made 6 batches of this recipe now and haven't had any desire to change a thing! My friends and family love it!! I used a large disposable deep pan with non-stick aluminum foil inside. It was a snap to clean up. Thanks so much for this recipe. It is truly awesome! I used 3 bags of buttered microwave popcorn: 2.9 oz each, worked perfectly and I did remove any unpopped kernels before I poured the caramel over the popped corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Easy to make and even easier to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Oh my gosh... I need a distraction this caramel popcorn is so good I'm afraid I could easily eat it all! I made an adjustment per the review of someone else. I used 1/3 C of Light Corn Syrup and 1/3 C of Molasses (ulsulphured). 3 regular size bags of Orville R. Micro butter popcorn = 7 QTS. Oven at 200 not 250 is what I chose. Simply amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Love it, perfect, great every time. Wouldn't change a thing - oops, well, I use butter, not margarine, and I think it's fabulous! This is the BEST, everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Made this last night exactly as stated and it turned out perfect. Can't stop eating this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
This has become a Christmas staple for me. I make one batch with peanuts and one without and put them in red and green bags (red for no peanuts, and green for with peanuts) and give them out. There are people who wait every year for it. Some years, I melt a little chocolate and drizzle it over it for added decadence. The recipe is great as is, although I usually make a little more caramel. I started as a purist and only made "real" popcorn, but I've given up and use unbuttered microwave popcorn now and I think I'm the only one who even notices. I use one of those throw-away roasting pans and just toss it for easy clean up when I'm done. Since I usually make about 10 batches for the holidays, this doesn't feel too wasteful. Do not try to make this when it's humid. It's terrible and soggy. I made it once in July and regretted it right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I love this recipe!! So good! The amount of popcorn sounded like it would be way to much so i cut in half. Mistake ! Now i have to make more. I added pecans instead of peanuts. Sooo good! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melarizona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
This is an excellent recipe. I've made this recipe for years. It was on the Jolly Time Popcorn bag many, many, many years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Love this - make it all the time with the following changes: After popping the corn in a hot air popper and removing all the kernals, we divide the popcorn between two brown paper grocery shopping bags (about 1/4 way full each) and then pour the cooked brown sugar/butter topping (I also only use one stick of butter and not two) over the popcorn in each bag, fold the top over a couple of times and shake, shake, shake. Then we place one bag in the microwave on high for 30 seconds while shaking the other bag. When the first bag is done, we put the second bag into the microwave while shaking the first bag. We cook each bag 30 seconds for the first time, 45 seconds the second time and 30 seconds a third time, shaking well in between each cook time and alternating the bags. Pour out onto waxed paper on the counter and break up large pieces. Quite a bit sticks the to the side of the bag but tear it down the sides and the popcorn comes off easily without taking paper bag with it if you run a rubber spatula or spoon over the edges. The caramel corn turns out much more well-coated than in the oven and it's super fast to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Will I make this again? yes ,yes yes, yesssssss. Very good popcorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 991) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States