My Amish Friend's Caramel Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Jazzy
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I have tried other recipes on this site, but this one is the best! I followed the recipe to the T and everyone loved the taste!!(I couldn't keep my hands off the treat while it was cooling, lol) I have made it with or without nuts, either way it never lasts long, I made a batch just yesterday to give away as Christmas gifts. Here's a tip, if you don't have waxed paper, seeing as to how I grew up with my thrifty Grandmother, I always keep large brown grocery sacks,unused ones, on hand..just cut it apart, spread it out, take a cold stick of butter and rub it across the paper, works very well. I always use a large aluminum roasting pan or pasta pan. Great Recipe, thanks for sharing, this one will be a keeper in my Family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Decatur, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This is the best caramel corn. I give it out for gifts every year and I always get rave reviews. I've even had friends call me up to see if I have any left over so that I can give them more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Weaverville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
OMG is this stuff d e l i c i o u s!! I used two and a half bags of Pop Secret Movie Theater Butter microwave popcorn and thought this amount was perfect. I tried the paper bag method, as suggested by others, it failed horribly for me. To much of the caramel stuck to the bag, I was so disappointed. I made a second batch and used a turkey roasting pan, as suggested by another use, it turned out perfect! Thank you Anita Louise for taking the time to share such a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This is the same recipe you can find many places, including I think the Jolly-time website. That being said it is delicious. Never have made any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This is a recipe that I would rate a 5+. For my family, this is the perfect caramel corn! I use my air popper to pop 27 cups of popcorn and then proceed with the recipe, only using butter rather than margarine. I've made it with peanuts, with mixed nuts, with pistachios and with almonds. Each batch was equally delicious. I bake on 2 large cookie sheets and rotate them every 15 minutes when it is time to stir. Two very important steps to making perfect caramel corn is - 1. don't put it away until it is completely cool and 2. don't make this on a rainy, muggy or high humidity day as it will turn gummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
OH MY GOOOOONESS! H E L L O Caramel Corn wrapped up in the cutest decorative gift boxes for Christmas gift giving and generously shared with teachers, the mail man, the gardener, my snow plow guy, holiday gatherings and could possibly show up in someones stocking if they are good! Warning this recipe is addictive! Make sure one of those cute popcorn packages is for YOUR family! Buttery, Sugary, Nutty, Yummy! 10 Stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia  Garreaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Gilford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
YUM! This is so good. It is really important to remove the unpopped kernels of corn before you add the caramel. Also, I like to sprinkle a little salt after the caramel coating right as it comes out of the oven. Oh man, this stuff is good. So addictive and really not that hard to make. I've made it several times now and always get compliments on how good it is. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
THE BOMB!! THIS WEEK IV BEEN TRYING OUT DIFFERENT RECIPES FOR THE HOLIDAYS TO SEE IF THEY ARE WORTHY SERVING AND GIVING OUT AS GIFTS! THIS CARAMEL CORN WILL MOST DEFIENTLY BE HANDED OUT AS GIFTS!! OMG!! EXCELLENT!! SO SIMPLE TO MAKE! VERY VERY GOOD! NO NEED TO CHANGE A THING!! MAKE THIS POPCORN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This is so good. I did use 3 bags of microwave popcorn and about 1 1/2 cups of cashews. Also used butter like most reviewers very easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I made this 3 times. First in the micro but it wouldn´t dissolve the sugar. The next 2 times on the stove top. First time it burned, the second time it was good. I think u need a candy thermometer to get it good the first time on the stove top, this burns quite quickly once it is ready. This is the same as micro peanut brittle which is very easy. any leftovers, just pour on a greased surface, cool, break into chunks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Armenia, Quindio, Colombia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,009) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States